Sabin Willett biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sabin Willett
Photo: bingham.com

Sabin Willett

Sabin Willett Biography

Peter Sabin Willet was born on March 6th, 1957. He is a lawyer and a novelist. He is a partner at Morgan, Lewis and Bockius and formerly a partner at Bingham McCutchen. He lives in Boston, Massachusetts. He is the author of three novels, Present Value, The Deal and The Betrayal. He graduated from Harvard and Harvard Law School and lives outside Boston.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 01/08/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Talk with Sabin Willett

Your first two novels were thrillers. Why the leap to social satire?
Writing this book was, for me, like riding my sister-in-law’s horse. I have been trying to do that lately, and I discovered that the enterprise goes very well when I decide to go wherever and whenever Joker wants to go, but leads to some painful dismounts when I try to mess with Joker’s agenda.

I wrote the first thriller because I thought it would be easiest for a nobody to publish a thriller. I wrote the second thriller because the first book was a thriller. I even wrote a third thriller (the God’s honest truth was that this was in 2000 or so and the plot was about the secret son of a bin Ladinesque figure who is discovered at a US school…), or part of a third thriller, but by this time it was really starting to feel like the horse didn't want to go where I was urging it.

So I thought I might be able to stay in the saddle if I just let the horse go where it wanted to go. Which was to Present Value. I suppose I have an ironic sensibility, and I think a lot, as a middle aged guy, about where things have come from and where they’re headed, and I believe I have a knack for humor in...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sabin Willett at BookBrowse
Present Value jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sabin Willett but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jonathan Franzen

    Jonathan Franzen

    Jonathan Franzen was born in Western Springs, Illinois, in 1959, and grew up in Webster Groves, Missouri, a suburb of St. Louis. After graduating from Swarthmore College in 1981 he studied at the Freie Universität in ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Present Value

    Try:
    The Corrections
    by Jonathan Franzen

  • Jane Heller

    Jane Heller

    Jane Heller promoted dozens of bestselling authors before becoming one herself. She is the author of thirteen books including Confessions of a She-Fan, An Ex to Grind, Infernal Affairs, Name Dropping,Female Intelligence, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Present Value

    Try:
    Female Intelligence
    by Jane Heller

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.