Janet Tashjian biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Janet Tashjian

Janet Tashjian

How to pronounce Janet Tashjian: ta-jen (Armenian)

Janet Tashjian Biography

Janet Tashjian is the author of several novels, including Fault Line and The Gospel According to Larry, which was named a Best Book for Young Adults, a Notable Trade Book in the Field of Social Studies, a New York Public Library Best Book for the Teen Age, and a Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book.

Tashjian lives in Los Angeles with her family.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 04/18/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Janet Tashjian

Are you like any of the characters in your books?
While I'm working on a book, I never think the characters have anything to do with me. Then when I finish and read the manuscript over, I discover they do. Trudy's ambition and runaway ideas are familiar qualities; Monica's hyper-analyzing stems from me too. (I also freeze snowballs in the winter to use in July the way her neighbor Darcy does.) Larry and I believe that ordinary people can change the world - in fact it's the main reason why we're here. (We both do yoga too. I do a better full lotus, but his tree pose blows me away.) There's usually a little piece of me in every character I write.

How long does it take you to write a book? How do you write them?
It usually takes me 3-5 months to write a novel, another month to rewrite it. I write both on the computer and in longhand. I like the freedom of writing in a notebook; you can do it anywhere. I edit and revise on the hard copy itself.
(A leftover habit from being a Journalism major.)

Nonfiction when I'm working on a novel. For me, it's difficult to be inside two ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Janet Tashjian at BookBrowse
My Life as a Book jacket Larry and the Meaning of Life jacket Vote For Larry jacket The Gospel According To Larry jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Janet Tashjian but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.