C.J. Box biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

C.J. Box

C.J. Box

C.J. Box Biography

C. J. Box is the author of over ten novels including the award-winning Joe Pickett series. He’s the winner of the Anthony Award, Prix Calibre 38 (France), the Macavity Award, the Gumshoe Award, the Barry Award, and an Edgar Award and L.A. Times Book Prize finalist. Box was named 2007 Writer of the Year by the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. His short stories have been featured in America’s Best Mystery Stories 2006 and limited-edition printings. The novels have been national bestsellers and have been translated into 13 languages.

Blue Heaven, a stand-alone thriller, was published by St. Martins Press in January, 2008 and was on the New York Times Bestseller list for four weeks and was optioned for film. Blood Trail, the eighth Joe Pickett novel, was published by Penguin/Putnam in May, 2008.

Box is a Wyoming native and has worked as a ranch hand, surveyor, fishing guide, a small town newspaper reporter and editor, and he co-owns an international tourism marketing firm with his wife, Laurie. An avid outdoorsman, Box has hunted, fished, hiked, ridden, and skied throughout Wyoming and the Mountain West. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo. Box lives with his family outside of Cheyenne, Wyoming.


Joe Pickett series

  1. Open Season (2001)
  2. Savage Run (2002)
  3. Winterkill (2003)
  4. Trophy Hunt (2004)
  5. Out of Range (2005)
  6. In Plain Sight (2006)
  7. Free Fire (2007)
  8. Blood Trail (2008)
  9. Below Zero (2009)
  10. Nowhere to Run (2010)
  11. Cold Wind (2011)
  12. Force of Nature (2012)
  13. Breaking Point (2013)
  14. Stone Cold (2014)
  15. Endangered (2015)
  16. Off The Grid (2016)
  17.  

Other Novels

  • Blue Heaven (2008)
  • Three Weeks to Say Goodbye (2009)
  • Back of Beyond (2011)
  • About This Biography
    This biography was last updated on 08/14/2011. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Books by this Author

    Books by C.J. Box at BookBrowse
    Off the Grid jacket Badlands jacket The Highway jacket Breaking Point jacket
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Readalikes

    All the books below are recommended as readalikes for C.J. Box but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
    How we choose readalikes

    • Nevada Barr

      Nevada Barr

      "Nevada Barr has carved out her own fictional fiefdom, creating a body of work like no other," the San Diego Union Tribune remarked in 1996 upon the publication of the fifth book in Barr’s acclaimed series featuring ... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel

      Try:
      Flashback
      by Nevada Barr

    • James Crumley

      James Crumley

      Novelist James Crumley was born in Three Rivers, Texas, on October 12, 1939 and spent most of his childhood in south Texas. After graduation he attended the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta on a Navy ROTC ... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel

      Try:
      The Final Country
      by James Crumley

    We recommend 6 similar authors

    View all 6 Readalikes

    Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    One Month Free Membership

    Join Today!

    Editor's Choice

    • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
      Hot Milk
      by Deborah Levy
      When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
    • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
      Ninety-Nine Stories of God
      by Joy Williams
      I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...
    • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
      The Book That Matters Most
      by Ann Hood
      BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...

    First Impressions

    • Book Jacket

      The Book That Matters Most
      by Ann Hood

      An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

      Read Member Reviews

    • Book Jacket

      Ashes of Fiery Weather
      by Kathleen Donohoe

      "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

      Read Member Reviews

    Book Discussions
    Book Jacket
    Circling the Sun
    by Paula McLain

    An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

    About the book
    Join the discussion!
    Win this book!
    Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

    The Kopp Sisters Return!

    One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

    Enter

    Word Play

    Solve this clue:

    Manners M (T) M

    and be entered to win..

    Books that     
    entertain,
         engage

     & enlighten

    Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

    Join Today!

    Your guide toexceptional          books

    BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

     
    X

    Free Weekly Newsletter

    Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
    Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



    Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.