Anna Lappe biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Anna Lappe

Anna Lappe

How to pronounce Anna Lappe: luh-PAY (confirmed by the author)

Anna Lappe Biography

Anna Lappé is a national bestselling author and public speaker, known for her work on sustainable agriculture, food politics, and social change. Named one of TIME’s Eco-Who’s Who, Anna has been featured in The New York Times, Gourmet, O-The Oprah Magazine, Domino, Food & Wine, and Vibe, among other outlets. She has appeared on the cover of several national magazines and was named by Organic Style as one of the nation’s leading environmental changemakers. In 2007, she was honored, along with New York Time columnist Nicholas Kristof, by The Missing Peace Project and was featured with Karenna Schiff Gore and Amanda Hearst in Contribute Magazine’s “21 Under 40 Making a Difference.”

With her mother Frances Moore Lappé, Anna leads the Cambridge-based Small Planet Institute, a collaborative network for research and popular education, and the Small Planet Fund, which has nearly half a million dollars for democratic social movements worldwide, two of which have won the Nobel Peace Prize since the Fund’s founding in 2002.

Anna is a co-host of the 2007 public television series, The Endless Feast, and has appeared on more than one hundred radio and television shows, including Fox, NBC, PBS, and the CBC in Canada, as well as nationally syndicated radio programs, including National Public Radio’s Weekend Edition, The Diane Rehm Show, Talk to America, and WYNC’s Leonard Lopate Show. Anna is a frequent lecturer and has spoken at dozens of universities and colleges across the country, including Allegheny College, Boston College, Brown University, Columbia University, New York University, Wesleyan, and Yale University.

Anna’s first book Hope’s Edge: The Next Diet for a Small Planet (Tarcher/Penguin 2002), co-written with Frances Moore Lappé, chronicles courageous social movements around the world addressing the root causes of hunger and poverty. Winner of the Nautilus Award for Social Change, Hope’s Edge has been published in several languages and is used in classrooms across the country.

Called “ingenious” by The New York Times, Anna’s second book Grub: Ideas for an Urban Organic Kitchen (Tarcher/Penguin 2006), with chef Bryant Terry and a foreword by Eric Schlosser, combines an exposé on industrial agriculture with hands-on tools and menus to create healthier lives for ourselves. For the “Eat Grub” education tour, Anna traveled to fifty-five cities and participated in more than one hundred events.

Anna’s writing has been widely published in The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, International Herald Tribune, and Canada’s Globe and Mail. Anna is also a contributing author to a number of books, including We Got Issues!: A Young Women's Guide to a Bold, Courageous and Empowered Life (Inner Ocean: September 2006), WorldChanging: A User’s Guide to the 21st Century (Abrams 2006), and Feeding the Future: How the Battle Over Food Will Change Your Life (Realize Media 2004). In 2006, Anna was a consulting editor for a special issue on food for The Nation.

Anna also serves as a consultant to foundations, media projects, and non-profit organizations. She is an active board member of the Center for Media and Democracy and the Community Food Security Coalition, the nation’s leading network of food justice and sustainable agriculture organizations.

Anna holds an M.A. in Economic and Political Development from Columbia University’s School of International and Public Affairs and graduated with honors from Brown University. From 2004 to 2006 she was a Food and Society Policy Fellow, a national program of the WK Kellogg Foundation.

Anna has worked in South Africa, England, and France. She is currently an Innovator at the Glynwood Institute for Sustainable Food and Farming and a Senior Fellow with the Oakland Institute.

She lives in Brooklyn, NY with her husband and daughter.

Link to Anna's website

This biography was last updated on 07/22/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anna Lappe at BookBrowse
Hope's Edge jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Anna Lappe but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Keith Bradsher

    Keith Bradsher

    Keith Bradsher is the Hong Kong bureau chief of The New York Times, covering Asian business, economic, political and science news.

    In 2013, he was part of the team awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Reporting.

    He ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hope's Edge

    Try:
    High and Mighty
    by Keith Bradsher

  • Marla Cone

    Marla Cone

    Marla Cone is one of the nation's premier environmental journalists. She has nineteen years of experience covering environmental issues, including fifteen years at the Los Angeles Times. She is the author of Silent ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hope's Edge

    Try:
    Silent Snow
    by Marla Cone

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Stalin's Daughter
    by Rosemary Sullivan
    "There is something fatal about my life. You can't regret your fate, though I do regret my ...
  • Book Jacket: A Certain Age
    A Certain Age
    by Beatriz Williams
    Lovers of high-society gossip, there's a new set of players in town. A good 20 out of 23 of our...
  • Book Jacket: The Romanovs
    The Romanovs
    by Simon Sebag Montefiore
    The Romanovs chronicles the reigns of the 20 individuals who were considered members of that dynasty...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Falling
    by Jane Green

    "Readers who enjoy a love story with heart will adore this tale of homecoming and transformation." - LJ

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Imperial Wife
    by Irina Reyn

    A smart, engaging novel that parallels two fascinating worlds and two singular women.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Fair Fight
by Anna Freeman

A page-turning novel set in the world of 18th century female pugilists.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!