Frances Moore Lappe biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Frances Moore Lappe

Frances Moore Lappe

How to pronounce Frances Moore Lappe: luh-PAY (confirmed by the author)

Frances Moore Lappe Biography

Frances Moore Lappé’s 1971, three-million-copy bestseller, Diet for a Small Planet, awakened a whole generation to the irrationality of feeding mountains of grain to livestock, which return in meat only a tiny fraction of the nutrients fed. Today, with concerns growing over genetically modified organisms and impact of corporate globalization, she has teamed up with her daughter Anna to write a sequel.

Mother and daughter have just completed Hope’s Edge: The Next Diet for a Small Planet. In it, the two Lappés pick up where the original book left off. Together, they set out on a round-the-world journey to explore the greatest challenges we face at the new millennium. Traveling to Asia, Africa, Latin America and Europe, as well as here in the United States, they sought answers to the most urgent question of our time—whether we can go beyond today’s consumerism and the isolation of me-first capitalism and find paths we each can walk that will heal our lives and the planet. Hope’s Edge was released by Tarcher/Putnam.

While writing Hope’s Edge, Lappé, author of over a dozen other books, was a visiting scholar at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Currently, she is a senior fellow at Second Nature in Boston. Lappé is the co-founder of two national organizations.

In 1975, with Joseph Collins she launched the California-based Institute for Food and Development Policy (Food First) to educate Americans about the causes of world hunger. Still making waves after twenty-five years, the Institute was described by The New York Times as one of the nation's "most respected food think tanks." Its publications continue to shape the international debate on the root causes of hunger and poverty.

In 1990, Lappé co-founded the Center for Living Democracy, a ten-year initiative that helped make visible and therefore accelerate the spread of democratic innovations in which regular citizens contribute to problem solving in all dimensions of public life.

Lappé served as founding editor of the Center’s American News Service, which over five years placed solutions-oriented news stories in more than 300 newspapers, including almost half of the nation’s top 100 newspapers by circulation.

Lappé's books, used in a broad array of courses in hundreds of colleges and universities and in more than 50 countries, have been translated into over a dozen languages. Lappé's 1989 book, Rediscovering America's Values, written as a dialogue, has sparked discussion on democratic values in thousands of settings. The Los Angeles Times called the book "original" and "provocative"- a "remarkable and valuable resource...It will help individual readers clarify their own personal values."

Her 1994 The Quickening of America: Rebuilding Our Nation, Remaking our Lives focuses on the success stories and practical tools of citizen problem solving. Lappé's life and work have been featured in People Magazine, The Boston Globe Magazine, The Utne Reader, Vegetarian Times, Orion Magazine, and many other publications. Lappé's articles have appeared in publications as diverse as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Readers' Digest, Christian Century, Chemistry, Le Monde Diplomatique, National Civic Review, Tikkun, and Harpers.

Her television and radio appearances have included the Today Show, CBS Radio, and National Public Radio. Lappé's work has been featured in several television documentaries, including an hour-long special devoted to her life that aired in Australia and Great Britain. She lectures widely to university audiences, community groups, and professional conferences.

Lappé has received 15 honorary doctorates from distinguished institutions, including the University of Michigan, Kenyon College, Allegheny College, and Lewis and Clark College.

In 1987 in Sweden, Lappé became the fourth American to receive the Right Livelihood Award, sometimes called the "Alternative Nobel," for her "vision and work healing our planet and uplifting humanity." In her 30's, Lappé received the annual Mademoiselle magazine award, honoring young American women leaders. Lappé's book awards include the World Hunger Media Award and the Henry George Award. In 2000, she was inducted into Natural Health Magazine's Hall of Fame.

Bibliography
Getting A Grip 2: Clarity, Creativity and Courage for the World We Really Want, 2010
Getting A Grip: Clarity, Creativity and Courage in a World Gone Mad, 2007
Democracy's Edge: Choosing to Save Our country by Bringing Democracy to Life, 2005
You Have the Power: Choosing Courage in a Culture of Fear (with Jeffrey Perkins), Tarcher/Penguin, 2004
Hope’s Edge: The Next Diet for a Small Planet (with Anna Lappé), Tarcher/Penguin, 2002
The Quickening of America: Rebuilding Our Nation, Remaking Our Lives (with Paul Martin Du Bois), Jossey-Bass, 1994
Diet for a Small Planet, Ballantine Books, 1971, 1975, 1982, 1991 (with Rachel Schurman), The Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1990
Rediscovering America’s Values, Ballantine Books, 1989
(with Rachel Schurman and Kevin Danaher), Grove Press, 1987
World Hunger: Twelve Myths (Joseph Collins, Peter Rosset and Luis Esparza), Grove Press, 1986. Updated and revised, 1999
What To Do After You Turn Off the T.V., Ballantine Books, 1985
Nicaragua: What Difference Could a Revolution Make? (with Joseph Collins), Grove Press, 1984
Now We Can Speak (with Joseph Collins), Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1984
Aid as Obstacle (with Joseph Collins and David Kinley), Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1980, Institute for Food and Development Policy, 1979
Food First: Beyond the Myth of Scarcity (with Joseph Collins), Houghton Mifflin 1977, Ballantine Books, 1979

Link to Frances Moore's website

This biography was last updated on 07/22/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Frances Moore Lappe at BookBrowse
Getting a Grip jacket Hope's Edge jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Frances Moore Lappe but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Keith Bradsher

    Keith Bradsher

    Keith Bradsher is the Hong Kong bureau chief of The New York Times, covering Asian business, economic, political and science news.

    In 2013, he was part of the team awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Reporting.

    He ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hope's Edge

    Try:
    High and Mighty
    by Keith Bradsher

  • Marla Cone

    Marla Cone

    Marla Cone is one of the nation's premier environmental journalists. She has nineteen years of experience covering environmental issues, including fifteen years at the Los Angeles Times. She is the author of Silent ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hope's Edge

    Try:
    Silent Snow
    by Marla Cone

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.