Andrew S. Grove biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Andrew S. Grove

Andrew S. Grove

Andrew S. Grove Biography

Andrew S. Grove escaped from Hungary to the United States in 1956 at age 20. He graduated from the City College of New York in 1960 with a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering degree, and received his PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1963.

After five years as a researcher at Fairchild Semiconductor, Dr. Grove participated in the founding of Intel Corporation, where he became, in succession, Chief Operating Officer, Chief Executive Officer and, finally, Chairman. He stepped down as Chairman in 2005, and remains a Senior Advisor.

Dr. Grove has written over 40 technical papers and several books, including Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Devices, as well as High Output Management and Only the Paranoid Survive. He has received a number of honorary degrees and other honors. He was named Time Magazine's "Man of the Year" in 1997, and received the IEEE 2000 Medal of Honor, and the 2001 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Strategic Management Society. In 2004, he was named the Most Influential Business Person in the Last Twenty-Five Years by the Wharton School of Business and the Nightly Business Report.

He chaired the Campaign for UCSF which raised $1.6B, and has been active in cancer and neuroscience research through his private family foundation. His current interests also include energy policy.

Andrew Grove's website

This bio was last updated on 12/18/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

On Writing by Andrew Grove, chairman of Intel and author of Swimming Across.

I have been in the public eye because of my business role for quite some time. Most of this time I have resisted getting into my personal background. All of that changed when Time magazine chose me to be "Man of the Year" in 1997 and, in the process of collaborating with the magazine staff on a profile they wrote, I found it very difficult to resist their inquiries into my childhood years.

What happened as a result surprised me. Once I broke the boundary separating my personal history from my public messages, I found myself not only willing, but also intrigued about delving into my youth. This intrigue became close to a mandate with the birth of my grandchildren. It dawned on me that I might be too old to tell them my story by the time they were old enough to understand it. So with the idea of setting down in my own words at my own pace, the story of my young years emerged.

I went about the process of mining my memory by letting nature take its course. I would drive or run or go about other aspects of my normal life and when some scene from my first 20 years floated through my mind, I would reach out, grab it and make myself a note on ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Andrew S. Grove at BookBrowse
Swimming Across jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Andrew S. Grove but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Korbel was born on May 15, 1937 in Prague, Czechoslovakia. Her father, Josef Korbel, was a member of the Czech diplomatic service who worked in Belgrade, London, and Prague before he fled with his family after a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Swimming Across

    Try:
    Madam Secretary
    by Madeleine Albright

  • Tim Berners-Lee

    Tim Berners-Lee

    Sir Timothy John Berners-Lee (b. 8 June 1955), a founder of the World Wide Web, is currently the director of the World Wide Web Consortium, the coordinating body for Web development, and he occupies the 3Com Founders chair at... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Swimming Across

    Try:
    Weaving The Web
    by Tim Berners-Lee

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: All We Have Left
    All We Have Left
    by Wendy Mills
    September 11, 2001 is a date that few Americans will ever forget. It was on this day that our ...
  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you'd rather have been talking

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.