Elizabeth McGregor biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Elizabeth McGregor
Photo Credit: Steve Pallant

Elizabeth McGregor

Elizabeth McGregor Biography

With over one hundred stories and serials published in the UK and overseas, Elizabeth McGregor is a seasoned and well-reviewed English author who made her American debut with The Ice Child, an epic novel that journey's into the heart of the Arctic. By delving into the historical intrigue of Sir John Franklin's infamous adventure, McGregor ventured in a new direction, departing the psychological thrillers that have been her mainstay.

In previous incarnations, McGregor worked as "a hopelessly bored but solvent civil servant, a happy but frequently overdrawn teacher, and an utterly ineffective and very nearly bankrupt antiques dealer." She has also written several scripts for television. She is married with one daughter and lives in the Blackmore Vale in Dorset.

She also writes under the names, Elizabeth Cook and Holly Fox.



This bio was last updated on 07/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Conversation with Elizabeth McGregor, author of The Ice Child

What first got you interested in writing fiction?
I always loved books. They held such glamour and excitement--and a kind of special secrecy--for me, I wanted to be part of that. Opening a book is like opening someone's front door. I wanted to invite people into my life. I once heard an author described as "being loved by people she had never met". I thought that was incredible.

Did you base any of this novel on your own life experiences?
A whole series of personal changes set The Ice Child in motion. I had already decided that I wanted to write a different kind of book to the psychological thrillers that had gone before. Then, in the two months before I began to write, events took a more serious turn. My marriage ended, I had to move house, and my mother became ill very suddenly, and died.

So this theme of getting through the dark, on an unmapped route--like the ones travelled by both Augustus and Sam in The Ice Child--was also a very personal journey for me.

What got you interested in Sir John Franklin's expedition?
The setting was what first intrigued me. I was fascinated by the last few remaining wildernesses...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Elizabeth McGregor at BookBrowse
The Girl in the Green Glass Mirror jacket The Ice Child jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Elizabeth McGregor but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Author Image Not Available

    Leonard Guttridge

    Known as Len to his friends, Leonard Francis Guttridge was born on August 27, 1918 in Bournemouth, England. He died June 7, 2009.

    In his 90 years, Leonard packed many roles into an eventful life. During World War II, at ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Ice Child

    Try:
    The Ghosts of Cape Sabine
    by Leonard Guttridge

  • Lucy Jago

    Lucy Jago

    Lucy Jago is an author and a contributor to magazines and several national newspapers. Before writing full-time, Lucy produced and directed history, arts and social documentaries for the BBC and Channel 4.

    Jago graduated from... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Ice Child

    Try:
    The Northern Lights
    by Lucy Jago

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko

    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy ...

  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Light Yokohama
    Blue Light Yokohama
    by Nicolas Obregon
    Blue Light Yokohama, Nicolás Obregón's crime fiction debut, takes place in an exotic ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book of Summer
    by Michelle Gable

    The bestselling author of The Paris Apartment, Michelle Gable now transports readers to Nantucket.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -