Terry Ryan biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Terry Ryan

Terry Ryan

Terry Ryan Biography

Terry Ryan was a technical writer, book editor, reviewer, poet, and coauthor of the long-running Chronicle cartoon "T.O. Sylvester." However, the work for which she is best known is her 2001 memoir, The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio: How My Mother Raised 10 Kids on 25 Words or Less, about her mother, Evelyn Ryan, a 1950s housewife with 10 children and a husband with a habit of drinking his paycheck, who wrote product jingles for contests to keep her family afloat. 

Terry Ryan, the sixth of 10 children, was born on July 14, 1946, in Defiance, Ohio. Growing up in the middle, with five brothers, she earned the nickname "Tuff." Always athletic, she was the first girl pitcher in the town's summer baseball league and led the Defiance team to intramural victory.

She earned her bachelor's degree in the late '60s from Bowling Green State University in Ohio, and moved to Chicago where she worked as an editor at the Journal of the American Medical Association.  There she met Irene Ogus; anxious to see the United States, they contracted to take "drive-away" cars across country.

"We got in a car one night in Chicago when it was about 40 below," recalled Ogus, now a San Francisco mortgage broker. "We had all our possessions in this big old Buick and drove for 30 hours to deliver it to Fort Lauderdale." From there, they went west, settling in San Francisco where they joined the Daughters of Bilitis, a social group founded in 1955 that was the first lesbian rights organization.

Ryan met Pat Holt in 1983, who was then editor of the San Francisco Chronicle Book Review.  Holt had been requested to "brighten" up the book review section - the result was Terry and Sylvia Mollick's cartoon, which ran for 16 years.

Holt and Ryan were married by Mayor Gavin Newsom on Valentine's Day weekend in 2004.  She recorded an account of the day in "We Do!" published by Chronicle Books.

The Ryan kids "were always encouraged to be ourselves," Terry's sister Betsy recalls. "I was not expected to be like Tuff. Barb was not expected to be like me. Mom waited for some indication from us of who we were, and she helped us go there. Today we differ on every last thing because we were never expected to fit into a mold."

When her mother died in 1998, Ryan knew she had to write her story.  She hauled home a chest full of 50-year-old contest entries, workbooks and letters, and her mother's parrot, Clancy, who still speaks in her mother's voice.  The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio was an instant success and was soon optioned for a movie.  It was while Ryan was visiting the film set in a small town near Toronto that she first showed symptoms of what was to be diagnosed as Stage IV cancer, with lesions in her lungs and brain.  She underwent surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. 

When she appeared at a screening of The Prize Winner of Defiance in San Francisco in 2005, cancer was clearly sapping her energy, but not her outlook.  She told a reporter, "You have to always, always look at the positive side and don't get lost in the negative."

She died in May 2007 at her home in San Francisco. She was 60.  She is survived by her nine siblings, their children and Pat Holt, her partner of nearly a quarter-century.

This biography was last updated on 07/15/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Terry Ryan at BookBrowse
The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Terry Ryan but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.