Sarah Stonich biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sarah Stonich

Sarah Stonich

Sarah Stonich Biography

Sarah Stonich started writing relatively late, in her thirties. She has been awarded a Minnesota State Arts Board Fellowship and a Loft McKnight Fellowship, among others. Her first novel, These Granite Islands, was a critical success, translated into six languages and short-listed for France's prestigious Grand Prix de lectrices d'Elle. She has also been artist-in-residence at numerous programs here and abroad. While at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre in Ireland, she began the The Ice Chorus (2005). Sarah was also a Drue Heinz Fellow at Hawthornden Castle, Scotland, where she began work on Vacationland (2013)

Shelter was released in 2011, which Sarah describes as "... essays surrounding my return to Northern Minnesota and my collaboration with an artisan builder to create a Scandinavian homestead. Shelter is also a chronicle of early immigrants to the region, particularly the Finns, who were being conscripted and jailed in their own country. Lastly, Shelter describes how one of the countries last great wilderness areas, the BWCAW, came to be preserved. The border country is a place where my immigrant grandparents once thrived, though now my family name is fading from memory - I am the only Stonich to return with any permanence in mind, in hopes to mend that fraying legacy, at least for my son and future generations that might find their own shelter there." Sarah Stonich has been writer-in-residence at The Ragdale Foundation in Lake Forest, IL; Centrum, Port Townsend, WA; Gibraltar Point, Toronto; and ART OMI International Writers Residency at Ledig House, NY. Of such residencies Sarah says: "The concentrated bouts of time are invaluable - not only for the opportunity to work, but for the chance to meet others . Writing is so solitary - it's vital to meet and discuss the life with writers; to exchange work, to bounce ideas, to commiserate, and to be inspired and supported."

Sarah regularly participates in literary seminars, conferences, library events, and, alumni functions for various universities, such as branches of AAUW. In 2005 she moderated discussions at the Irish Writers' Festival in Aspen in televised panels featuring Edna O'Brien, Jamie O'Neill, Colum McCann, Nuala O'Faolin and others. Irish traditions of storytelling have been most inspiring and illuminating to her career, the literature that's had the most impact on her as a writer.

Her most recent work include, a collection of stories, Vacationland came out in 2013.

Sarah lives in Minneapolis with her husband, Jon.

Sarah Stonich's website

This bio was last updated on 07/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sarah Stonich at BookBrowse
These Granite Islands jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sarah Stonich but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kirstin Allio

    Kirstin Allio

    Kirstin Allio was born in Maine in 1974. Her novel, Garner, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award for First Fiction. She also received the National Book Foundation's "5 Under 35" Award. Her short stories have ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    These Granite Islands

    Try:
    Garner
    by Kirstin Allio

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    These Granite Islands

    Try:
    The Blind Assassin
    by Margaret Atwood

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Never-Open Desert Diner
    by James Anderson
    James Anderson's debut novel, The Never-Open Desert Diner, starts off as an entertaining ...
  • Book Jacket
    In the Country of Men
    by Hisham Matar
    Labeled by some as the "Libyan Kite Runner", In The Country of Men does share some ...
  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.