Nancy H. Dahm biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Nancy H. Dahm

Nancy H. Dahm

Nancy H. Dahm Biography

Nancy Hassett Dahm is a registered nurse who specializes in cancer care. Her experience in caring for over 400 cancer patients, since 1991, is the basis of knowledge for this book. Over the years, she has developed a clear and powerful vision of the problems and concerns of those who are facing cancer. Her experience in cancer pain management has led to the development of her nursing theory - The Continuum of Pain, The Continuum of Pain Control, which is included in her book, Mind, Body and Soul. It has served as the basis for maintaining almost all of her patients pain-free.

Her other credits include conducting programs and lecturing to the professional and lay community on the care of cancer patients.

Nancy received her Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing from Long Island University, New York.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 11/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Nancy Hassett Dahm, Author of Mind, Body, and Soul: A Guide to Living with Cancer. ( By Caregiving.com , March 2001 ).
Q. Families so worry about the unexpected when they care for a terminally ill family member, especially because, as a society, we've done so little education about the dying process. Can you explain the dying process? What are the physical changes to the body during the last weeks and days? What about any emotional and/or spiritual changes?
A. Families do worry about the unexpected when caring for a terminally ill family member. This is natural, given that there is little published information on how to give care. Families are confronted with tremendous grief over the impending loss. Yet, they will have to care for their loved one, and watch the dying process despite that grief. However, it is a time when caring for a loved one at such a stage, is an opportunity to give and receive much love. Everyone fears the dying process. But that fear can be mitigated once everyone understands what is happening.

Let me explain. The dying process is not one process that occurs, but many. It is unique to each individual - not everyone dies in the same manner. There are many similarities...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Nancy H. Dahm at BookBrowse
Mind, Body and Soul jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Nancy H. Dahm but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Elizabeth Berg

    Elizabeth Berg

    Elizabeth Berg was born in St. Paul, Minnesota on December 2, 1948.

    Before Berg became a writer, she was a registered nurse for ten years, and that was her "school" for writing—taking care of patients taught her a lot ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Mind, Body and Soul

    Try:
    Never Change
    by Elizabeth Berg

  • Barbara Delinsky

    Barbara Delinsky

    Says Barbara Delnsky: "I was born and raised in suburban Boston. My mother's death, when I was eight, was the defining event of a childhood that was otherwise ordinary. I took piano lessons and flute lessons. I took ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Mind, Body and Soul

    Try:
    Uplift
    by Barbara Delinsky

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.