Eleanor Herman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Eleanor Herman
Photo by Sigrid Estrada

Eleanor Herman

Eleanor Herman Biography

New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Herman wrote Sex with Kings (a history of royal mistresses at European Courts), Sex with the Queen (a look at queens' love affairs), and Mistress of the Vatican (a biography of a seventeenth-century woman who ran the Vatican for her brother-in-law and reputed lover, Pope Innocent X). She first became interested in European royalty when her father told her that she was related to numerous kings and queens, going 44 generations straight back to Charlemagne, and that she herself was named after Eleanor of Aquitaine, to whom she is related going back twenty-eight generations. That is, of course, assuming all those queens were faithful to the kings, and having written Sex with the Queen, Eleanor is not so sure.

Eleanor Herman appeared on National Geographic Channel's The Madness of Henry VIII, and has hosted episodes of Lost Worlds for The History Channel. An accomplished lecturer and commentator on all things royal, Eleanor lives in McLean, Virginia, with her husband, three ornery misbehaving cats, and an 85-pound force of nature who keeps knocking her down, a black Lab puppy named Charlemagne.

Eleanor Herman's website

This bio was last updated on 10/20/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Eleanor Herman at BookBrowse
King Peggy jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Eleanor Herman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • William Kamkwamba

    William Kamkwamba

    William Kamkwamba was born in Dowa, Malawi, in 1987 and raised in Masitala village along the central plains. One of seven children born to sustenance farmers who grew maize and tobacco, his childhood was often interrupted by ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    King Peggy

    Try:
    The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind
    by William Kamkwamba

  • Wangari Maathai

    Wangari Maathai

    Wangari Muta Maathai was born in Nyeri, Kenya (Africa) in 1940. The first woman in East and Central Africa to earn a doctorate degree. Wangari Maathai obtained a degree in Biological Sciences from Mount St. ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    King Peggy

    Try:
    Unbowed
    by Wangari Maathai

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Wolf Season
    by Helen Benedict
    Rin Drummond's nicknames include "Pit Bull" and "Dragon." She's a tough-as-nails Iraq War ...
  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...
  • Book Jacket: Leonardo da Vinci
    Leonardo da Vinci
    by Walter Isaacson
    The name Leonardo da Vinci is one of the most recognized in all of Western history, and his ...
  • Book Jacket: The Immortalists
    The Immortalists
    by Chloe Benjamin
    On a summer day in 1969 in New York City, the Gold children agree to seek out a mysterious ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Dry by Jane Harper

Winner of the 2017 BookBrowse Debut Novel Award

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Days When Birds Come Back
    by Deborah Reed

    A graceful testament to endurance, rebuilding, and the possibilities of coming home.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Mothers of Sparta

Mothers of Sparta: A Memoir

A dazzling literary memoir with shades of Mary Karr, Anne Lamott and Jenny Lawson.

Enter

Word Play

Sorry, we do not currently have an active wordplay!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.