Felix J. Palma biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Felix J. Palma

Felix J. Palma

Felix J. Palma Biography

Félix J. Palma was born in Spain in 1968. His first volume of short stories, El Vigilante de la Salamandra (The Lizard's Keeper) was published in 1998. He has published four other volumes of stories: Métodos de Supervivencia (Methods of Survival,1999), Las Interioridades (Interiors, 2002), Los Arácnidos (The Arachnids, 2003), and El Menor Espectáculo del Mundo (The World's Smallest Show, 2010).

His novels are La Hormiga que Quiso Ser Astronauta (The Ant that Wanted to Become an Astronaut, 2001), Las Corrientes Oceánicas (The Ocean Currents, winner of the 2005 Luis Berenguer Award for Novel), and El Mapa del Tiempo (The Map of Time, winner of the Ateneo de Sevilla Award 2008). His work has been translated into more than 25 languages. He has also worked as a columnist, literary critic and has given creative writing workshops.

Palma has won more than one hundred awards. The Map of Time is his first book to be published in English.

Felix Palma's website

This bio was last updated on 10/26/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Félix Palma on books and writing

Who are your favorite authors?
Julio Cortázar, [Jorge Luis] Borges, Daniel Pennac, Paul Auster, Martin Amis.

What are your five favorite books of all time?
Lolita (Nabokov), The Anubis Gates (Tim Powers), The Time Traveler's Wife (Audrey Niffenegger), Interview with the Vampire (Anne Rice), One Hundred Years of Solitude (Gabriel García Márquez).

Is there a book you love to reread?
Cuentos by Julio Cortázar

Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?
That they must try to enjoy the process of writing, not just the fact of having a finished work.

What comment do you hear most often from your readers?
Give me back by money! Well… really, some people say to me: Thanks for making me dream.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Felix J. Palma at BookBrowse
The Map of the Sky jacket The Map of Time jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Felix J. Palma but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Any activity becomes creative when the doer cares about doing it right, or better.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.