Mark Salter biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Author Image Not Available

Mark Salter

Mark Salter Biography

Mark Salter is a former Chief of Staff to Senator John McCain and a senior advisor in both the Senator's presidential campaigns. Prior to his promotion to chief of staff, he was for over three years the Senator's chief foreign policy advisor, and in that capacity was directly involved in legislation concerning many defense and foreign policy issues, including U.S. defense and foreign assistance programs in Central American countries; the authorization of the U.S military deployments to Bosnia; the normalization of U.S. relations with Vietnam, human rights policies for numerous countries; homeland security and the U.S. interventions in Iraq and Afghanistan.

From 1982 until 1986, he was a press officer in the United States Mission to the United Nations, following which he served until 1989 as press aide and speechwriter to former U.S. Ambassador to the U.N, Dr. Jeane Kirkpatrick.

He graduated from Georgetown University in 1981, and served an internship at the Bureau for Intelligence and Research in the Department of State.

Salter has written, in collaboration with McCain, the books Why Courage Matters, Faith Of My Fathers, Worth the Fighting For, Character is Destiny, and Hard Call: Great Decisions and the Extraordinary People Who Made Them.

He lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his wife and two daughters.



This bio was last updated on 10/05/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mark Salter at BookBrowse
Faith of My Fathers jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mark Salter but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • James Bradley

    James Bradley

    James Bradley is the fourth child of flagraiser John "Doc" Bradley. Raised in Wisconsin, Bradley studied at the University of Notre Dame, Sophia University in Tokyo, Japan and graduated with a degree in East Asian History ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Faith of My Fathers

    Try:
    Flags of Our Fathers
    by James Bradley

  • David Maraniss

    David Maraniss

    David Maraniss is an associate editor at The Washington Post and the author of several critically acclaimed and bestselling books, including When Pride Still Mattered: A Life of Vince Lombardi, First in His Class: A ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Faith of My Fathers

    Try:
    They Marched Into Sunlight
    by David Maraniss

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: All We Have Left
    All We Have Left
    by Wendy Mills
    September 11, 2001 is a date that few Americans will ever forget. It was on this day that our ...
  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Life is the garment we continually alter, but which never seems to fit.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.