Brian Leung biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Brian Leung
Photo: John Nation

Brian Leung

Brian Leung Biography

Brian Leung was born and raised in San Diego County, a somewhat unlikely location given that his mother was born in Battleground, Washington and his father escaped from China in 1949. For many years Brian lived in Los Angeles, where he studied the city's kinetic diversity and found his literary voice. Today he resides in a Shotgun house built in 1898 in Louisville, Kentucky. In addition to being an Associate Professor at the University of Louisville, and a novelist, he is an avid collector of original animation art and also, the work of the famed graphic artist, Charles Harper.

Brian's second novel, Take Me Home, earned a starred review in Kirkus reviews.It is set in 1885 Wyoming and is centered around Adele (Addie) Maine, a determined, feisty young woman who leaves Kentucky to join her brother in homesteading.  Not long after her arrival, Addie is confronted by something wholly new to her, Chinese people. Indeed, the novel is backgrounded by the historical event of a riot in which twenty-eight Chinese coal miners were massacred in Rock Springs.

As readers and reviewers alike have commented, the intersections of disparate lives are a hallmark of Brian's fiction. His acclaimed story collection, World Famous Love Acts, shows a remarkable range of characters, each powerfully rendered. A testament to his storytelling, the collection won the Mary McCarthy Award in Short Fiction and the Asian American Literary Award for fiction.

2007 saw the publication of his first novel, Lost Men with a French edition following in 2008. Subsequent to the French publication, he was a guest of Festival America in Vincennes, France. Lost Men amplifies the best qualities of his short fiction and about which Publisher's Weekly writes "Leung gingerly reacquaints an estranged father and son who travel through China in this sagacious and lyrical debut novel." An Italian edition is forthcoming in 2009.


Brian's fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry have appeared in Story, Crazyhorse, Grain, Gulf Coast, Kinesis, The Barcelona Review, Mid-American Review, Salt Hill, Gulf Stream, River City, Runes, The Bellingham Review, Hyphen, Velocity, The Connecticut Review, Blithe House Quarterly, Indiana Review, Crab Orchard Review, Crowd, and in the short story anthology The Habit of Art. He is also the co-author of the non-fiction humor title, Not Another Feel Good Singles Book.

The recipient of numerous awards and fellowships, Brian earned his B.A. and MA. at California State University, and an M.F.A from Indiana University.

Brian Leung's website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

The Story Behind Take Me Home

I climbed to the top Pilot Butte, a fantastic formation of orange rock jutting up and out of the grayish green Wyoming landscape not far from Rock Springs. It sits on the plain like an oil tanker at anchor, and the view from its peak reveals something like an ocean caught in freeze frame, an undulating, unpopulated vista, unpopulated except for wild horses and the shadows of single clouds sliding over the surface like dark slugs. Wind in my face, sun at my back, I said it aloud. "They've been here."

I was speaking about the characters in Take Me Home, the novel for which I had yet to write a single word. But I'd been thinking about them for years, knew my heroine Addie Maine as well as if we'd met every day over a breakfast of venison and hard coffee. She would have insisted on bringing Wing Lee to Pilot Butte, and not far off, to the great white Killpecker Dunes. But I also knew that very willfulness, the fact of a white woman hiring a Chinese man and befriending him that would be the fuel, if not the match to all their troubles.

When my own parents met in the 1960s it was difficult enough for a white woman and a man recently arrived from China to imagine a future...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Brian Leung at BookBrowse
Take Me Home jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Brian Leung but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert was born in Englewood, New Jersey, to Herbert E. Brennert, an aviation writer, and Almyra E. Brennert, an apartment rentals manager.  He grew up in Cliffside Park and Edgewater, New Jersey, always living... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Take Me Home

    Try:
    Honolulu
    by Alan Brennert

  • Jamie Ford

    Jamie Ford

    Jamie Ford is the great-grandson of Nevada mining pioneer Min Chung, who emigrated from Kaiping, China, to San Francisco in 1865, where he adopted the Western name “Ford,” thus confusing countless generations. Ford ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Take Me Home

    Try:
    Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
    by Jamie Ford

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guineveres
    The Guineveres
    by Sarah Domet
    It's a human need to know one's own identity, to belong to someone, to yearn for a place ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.