Nora Ephron biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author

Author Image Not Available

Nora Ephron

Nora Ephron Biography

Nora Ephron was an American film director, producer, screenwriter, novelist, and blogger. She will likely be best remembered for her romantic comedies and was a triple nominee for the Academy Award for Writing Original Screenplay for three films: Silkwood, When Harry Met Sally, and Sleepless in Seattle. She died in 2012 at the age of 71.

Plays

  • Silkwood, 1992
  • When Harry Met Sally, 1998
  • Imaginary Friends, 2003
  • Love, Loss and What I Wore, 2011 with Delia Ephron


Films

  • Silkwood (writer), 1983
  • Heartburn (writer, novel), 1986
  • When Harry Met Sally... (writer, associate producer), 1989
  • Cookie (writer, executive producer), 1989
  • My Blue Heaven (writer, executive producer), 1990
  • This Is My Life (director, writer), 1992
  • Sleepless in Seattle (director, writer), 1993
  • Mixed Nuts (director, writer), 1994
  • Michael (director, writer, producer), 1996
  • Strike! / The Hairy Bird / All I Wanna Do (executive producer), 1998
  • You've Got Mail (director, writer, producer), 1998
  • Hanging Up (writer, producer), 2000
  • Lucky Numbers (director, producer), 2000
  • Bewitched (director, writer, producer), 2005
  • Julie & Julia (director, writer, producer), 2009

Novels

  • Heartburn, 1983

Nonfiction

  • And Now Here's Johnny! (1968)
  • Wallflower At the Orgy (1970)
  • Crazy Salad: Some Things About Women (1975)
  • Scribble Scribble: Notes On the Media (1978)
  • I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts On Being a Woman (2006)
  • I Remember Nothing: And Other Reflections (2010)

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 06/27/2012. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Nora Ephron at BookBrowse
I Remember Nothing jacket I Feel Bad About My Neck jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.