Téa Obreht biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Téa Obreht
Beowulf Sheehan Photography

Téa Obreht

How to pronounce Téa Obreht: Tay-uh Ah-bret

Téa Obreht Biography

Téa Obreht's first novel, The Tiger’s Wife, was published by The Dial Press in March 2011. Her fiction debut - an excerpt of The Tiger's Wife in The New Yorker - was followed by a short story in the summer 2009 fiction issue of The Atlantic.

She was born in 1985 in the former Yugoslavia. Until she was seven, she lived in Belgrade (now the capital of Servia) with her mother; her grandfather (a Roman Catholic from Slovenia); and her grandmother (a Muslim from Bosnia). When civil war broke out in 1992, the family moved first to Cyprus and then to Cairo, where she attended English schools. In 1997, when the war ended, her grandparents returned to Belgrade, but she and her mother immigrated to the USA, first living outside Atlanta and then settling in Palo Alto, south of San Francisco in California.

After graduating from the University of Southern California, Téa received her M.F.A. in Fiction from the Creative Writing Program at Cornell University in 2009, and now lives in Ithaca, New York. In June 2010 she was named one of The New Yorker's "20 Under 40" list of fiction writers worth watching - the only one of the 20 authors to be unpublished in book form at the time of being given the award; she was 24 years old. The Tiger's Wife is not just a first for Téa, it is also the first book ever to be sold by her agent, Seth Fishman (30 at the time), and the second book bought by her editor, Noah Eaker, who was 26 when he acquired it while still technically an editorial assistant for Dial Press (an imprint of Random House).

Although set in the Balkans, she says The Tiger's Wife is not autobiographical. She did not live through the war in the Balkans, and her grandfather was a successful aviation engineer, not a physician, who, while a great storyteller, did not tell folk tales.

Téa Obreht's website

This bio was last updated on 06/02/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Téa Obreht talks about her first novel, The Tiger's Wife

After completing my first novel, The Tiger's Wife , I've found myself indulging in a sentimental mood. I pretend that this is due to my need to retrace my steps, to see how it all came together, and, by remembering what I did before, somehow speed my next project along; in fact, I am probably just procrastinating or being insufferable, mulling over memories that, due to the late hours, were doomed to an impregnable haze a long time ago. I dig through my "notes": folded scraps of paper, the backs of torn-open envelopes where I doodled plot points and lines of dialogue, index cards with cryptic inscriptions—"BUT WHAT HAPPENED TO THE WATERMELON?!?!?"—punctuated as though I'd had some kind of civilization-saving breakthrough.

For whatever reason, as I go through my notes, I spend much of my time revisiting the evolution of my characters.  Who's been there the longest? Who was thrown out at the last minute? Who was the life and soul of the first draft, and then ended up with one dialogue in the third? Who's been renamed, transformed completely into somebody else?

In some ways, the answers to these questions ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Téa Obreht at BookBrowse
The Tiger's Wife jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Téa Obreht but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Amanda Hodgkinson

    Amanda Hodgkinson

    Hodgkinson has an MA in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia. After the MA, she and her husband, with our two young daughters, upped sticks and bought a property in south west France. The first few years were ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Tiger's Wife

    Try:
    22 Britannia Road
    by Amanda Hodgkinson

  • Violet Kupersmith

    Violet Kupersmith

    Born in 1989, Violet Kupersmith graduated from Mount Holyoke College in 2011 and then spent a year in Vietnam on a Fulbright teaching fellowship. She is currently at work on a novel. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Tiger's Wife

    Try:
    The Frangipani Hotel
    by Violet Kupersmith

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guineveres
    The Guineveres
    by Sarah Domet
    It's a human need to know one's own identity, to belong to someone, to yearn for a place ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.