Will North biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Will North

Will North

Will North Biography

Will North credits writing with being his "meal ticket" out of a chaotic and sometimes frightening family in a steadily deteriorating neighborhood in Yonkers, just over the New York City border. It was his ticket to scholarships for an undergraduate degree in English, and then a graduate degree in journalism.

Writing carried North through a series of jobs and ultimately, at the age of 30, to an appointed position in the Carter administration. Much as he loved that job, one of the best things that ever happened to North was the election of Ronald Reagan, who promptly fired him and forced North to choose between holding a job and becoming an author. North chose the latter.

Over the years, and under a different name, for Will North is a pen name, he has written more than a dozen non fiction books. He became a ghostwriter—for an American President, a Vice-President, a famous mountaineer and explorer, a team of Everest climbers, a group of dinosaur-hunters, and a pioneering doctor, among others.

North also wrote a series of off-the-beaten-track guidebooks to the place he loves most in the world: Britain. He has since made extensive forays into fiction as well.

Will North's website

This bio was last updated on 12/19/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Warning - this Q&A contains plot spoilers.....
 

Will North discusses his second novel, Water, Stone Heart

At the core of your novel, Water, Stone, Heart, is a deep and difficult question: "Can a woman who has been sexually abused as a child ever form a healthy and trusting intimate relationship with a man?" How does a man come to write about such things?

The standard instruction to any would-be novelist is, "write what you know." I was once very much in love with a woman who had been abused as a child. I did not, at the time, fully comprehend the terrible weight anyone with that tragic history must bear—partly because she would not talk about it. The relationship did not survive. I dug into the subject and was stunned to learn that experts believe at least a quarter of all women in the U.S. have been sexually abused as children. Relationships are difficult enough to manage and maintain; loving someone who has been abused requires understanding both the pain, grief, fear, and anger the survivor carries and their long term effects on behavior. I guess I wish I knew then what I know now.


Your character, Nicola, seems to swing between "come hither" and &...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Will North at BookBrowse
Water, Stone, Heart jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Will North but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Diana Abu-Jaber

    Diana Abu-Jaber

    Diana Abu-Jaber is the author of several novels, including Arabian Jazz, Crescent, and Birds of Paradise. Crescent was awarded the 2004 PEN Center USA Award for Literary Fiction and the Before Columbus Foundation's American ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Water, Stone, Heart

    Try:
    Crescent
    by Diana Abu-Jaber

  • Yasmin Crowther

    Yasmin Crowther

    Yasmin Crowther is the product of an Anglo-Iranian household (Iranian mother and British father). She says that she "feels like I am a part of both places and not fully understood by either place", and that's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Water, Stone, Heart

    Try:
    The Saffron Kitchen
    by Yasmin Crowther

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

I always find it more difficult to say the things I mean than the things I don't.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.