Jennet Conant biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jennet Conant

Jennet Conant

Jennet Conant Biography

Jennet Conant is the bestselling author of four critically acclaimed books about World War II. Conant spent her childhood listening to personal stories from her grandfather, James B. Conant, who was the main administrator of the Manhattan Project and President of Harvard University for 20 years. This connection, along with her training in journalism, led her to the dramatic stories about the invention of RADAR, the development of the atomic bomb, and a British spy ring in Wartime Washington.

Conant's first book and New York Times bestseller, Tuxedo Park: A Wall Street Tycoon and the Secret Palace of Science That Changed the Course of World War II, tells the largely forgotten dramatic story of eccentric Wall Street mogul and amateur scientist Alfred Loomis, who brought together many of the world's greatest scientists in a gilded preserve of money and privilege called Tuxedo Park.

Science and drama dominate Conant's acclaimed book about the building of the atomic bomb. In 109 East Palace: Robert Oppenheimer and the Secret City of Los Alamos, she describes a riveting chronicle of the human struggle for Oppenheimer and other the brilliant scientists, who were whisked off to a hidden town on a New Mexico mountaintop and raced against the Germans to create the weapon that ended World War II. Drawing on unpublished papers, exclusive interviews, and years of research, Conant tells the story of the most extraordinary secrecy that surrounded the community—something that could not be replicated today.

Conant's third book The Irregulars: Roald Dahl and the British Spy Ring in Wartime Washington, examines another story of secrecy during World War II. Based on research using never before?seen letters, diary entries and interviews, Conant reveals that Roald Dahl, the beloved author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and James and the Giant Peach, was a member of Churchill's infamous dirty tricks squad. Dahl's mission was to draw the isolationists and other reluctant Americans into England's war against the Nazis, and he did this by rubbing elbows with Washington's rich and powerful, rigging opinion polls, and writing pro? British articles in publications, just to name a few.

In her latest book, A Covert Affair, Conant brings us a stunning account of Julia and Paul Child's experiences as members of the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) in the Far East during World War II and the tumultuous years when they were caught up in the McCarthy Red spy hunt in the 1950s.

A graduate of Bryn Mawr College and Columbia University's School of Journalism, Conant is a former journalist, who has written profiles for Vanity Fair, Esquire, GQ, Newsweek, and The New York Times.

She lives with her husband, Steve Kroft, and son in New York City and Sag Harbor, New York.



This bio was last updated on 01/09/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview


A Conversation with Jennet Conant, author of The Irregulars

The Irregulars is your third book dealing with historical aspects of World War II. Did you come across Roald Dahl, William Stephenson and the rest of the colorful British Security Coordination (BSC) crew, in your past research, or did you happen upon this subject more recently? What brought them to your attention?

I had to do quite a bit of research involving the bomb spies for my second book and became interested in the idea of pursuing the subject for my next project. I was reading through a great many old, out-of-print books on WWII espionage when I saw a brief mention that Dahl had worked as a spy in Washington and that piqued my interest. When I discovered a young David Ogilvy was his Georgetown roommate and fellow spy, I knew there was a story to be told.


The late Stephen Ambrose used to say that, for him, the best part of historical research was the surprises he discovered in the process. How much of the material included in The Irregulars came as a surprise to you? Were there any moments when you found yourself shaking your head in amazement?

I couldn't agree with Ambrose more. Almost everything about Dahl's ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jennet Conant at BookBrowse
A Covert Affair jacket The Irregulars jacket 109 East Palace jacket Tuxedo Park jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jennet Conant but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lauren Belfer

    Lauren Belfer

    Lauren Belfer was born in Rochester, New York, and grew up in Buffalo, where she attended the Buffalo Seminary. At Swarthmore College, she majored in Medieval Studies. After graduating, she worked as a file clerk at an art ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Irregulars

    Try:
    A Fierce Radiance
    by Lauren Belfer

  • Simon Berthon

    Simon Berthon

    Simon Berthon, recently described by the Daily Telegraph as a “formidable Second World War historian”, is one of Britain’s most distinguished writers and producers of television history. His previous book was ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Irregulars

    Try:
    Warlords
    by Simon Berthon

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Anagrams

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.