Kevin Henkes biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Kevin Henkes
Photo: Laura Dronzek

Kevin Henkes

Kevin Henkes Biography

Kevin Henkes was born in 1960 in Racine, Wisconsin, and during his childhood often visited the local art museum—the Charles A. Wustum Museum of Fine Arts. Henkes was greatly inspired by these visits and by reading his favorite books. As a young child, he pored over books and was intrigued by their authors and illustrators.

In his senior year of high school, a public librarian introduced him to Barbara Bader's American Picturebooks from Noah's Ark to The Beast Within.

Henkes began college at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, choosing to go there in large part because of the School of Education's Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC). At the CCBC, Henkes learned about the history and future trajectory of children's literature. The July after his freshman year Henkes set off for New York, a ranked list of his favorite publishers in hand. His first stop was Greenwillow Books, headed at the time by its founder, Susan Hirschman. Hirschman signed him up on the spot, and Henkes took the fall semester off to work on a dummy book. The result was Henkes's first published picture book, All Alone (1981).

In 1986, Henkes's picture book profile grew a bit larger, thanks to the birth of some little mice in A Weekend with Wendell. Thirteen books featuring these mouse characters would follow, including the 1994 Owen, but the most famous of them is Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse. With the release of that book in 1996, Henkes gave the world of children's literature a memorable new addition to its roster of cherished characters; Lilly returned ten years later in Lilly's Big Day. With the introduction of Lilly, another star was born: Henkes himself was firmly established as an outstanding and inimitable contributor to the canon of children's literature.

In 2005, Kevin Henkes's picture book Kitten's First Full Moon was the winner of the Caldecott Medal. Henkes recently published his thirty-fifth picture book, Penny and Her Marble. He has also published twelve novels, including Words of Stone, which is especially meaningful to Henkes because this book was his first to elicit letters from older children and adults. His novel Olive's Ocean won a Newbery Honor in 2004, and his most recent novel for young readers, The Year of Billy Miller, won a Newbery Honor in 2014.

Indeed, the impact that Henkes has made in his impressive career was made official when the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, selected him to deliver the prestigious May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture in 2007. This is an honor given to "an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of children's literature." In 2013, the Catholic Library Association awarded Henkes the Regina Medal, celebrating his continued distinguished contribution to children's literature.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 08/10/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Kevin Henkes at BookBrowse
The Year of Billy Miller jacket Junonia jacket Bird Lake Moon jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Kevin Henkes but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.