Sloane Crosley biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sloane Crosley

Sloane Crosley

Sloane Crosley Biography

Crosley is the author of The New York Times bestselling essay collections, I Was Told There'd Be Cake (2008), How Did You Get This Number (2010) and the e-book Up The Down Volcano (2011). She served as editor of The Best American Travel Writing series (2011) and has contributed to a variety of anthologies. She is featured in The 50 Funniest American Writers: An Anthology of Humor from Mark Twain to The Onion (2011) and The Best American Nonrequired Reading (2011). I Was Told There'd Be Cake was a finalist for The Thurber Prize for American Humor. Sloane's debut novel, The Clasp (2015), is a comedy of manners about three estranged friends and one famous short story.

Sloane's work has appeared in Esquire, GQ, Playboy, Elle, W, The New York Times Book Review, New York Magazine, The Believer, The Guardian and National Public Radio's "All Things Considered." She was the inaugural columnist for The New York Times Op-Ed "Townies" series. She has been a frequent contributor to The New York Times, The Village Voice, The New York Observer, and is currently a contributing editor at Vanity Fair and Interview Magazine. In 2011, she wrote a weekly column for The Independent in the UK. Her fiction has appeared in McSweeney's and Esopus. She also co-authored Read Bottom Up (2015), using the pen name, Skye Chatham.

In 2011, she created sadstuffonthestreet.com with her friend Greg Larson. It's more or less what it sounds like.

In 2013, she taught in Columbia University's MFA program. Prior to writing full time, Sloane spent twelve years working in book publishing. She currently serves on the board of Housingworks Used Bookstore and is a co-chair of The Young Lions Committee at The New York Public Library.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 08/10/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

How did this book come to be?
While I was moving in Manhattan, I managed to brilliantly lock myself out of two separate apartments – two, count them, two – on the same day. Since moving from walk-up to walk-up in New York is already one of those infamously difficult tasks that really shouldn’t be difficult, I thought that having the same epic struggle within a 12-hour period was a good story. So I typed up what was essentially a play-by-play about the experience and sent it to some friends over e-mail, including an editor at The Village Voice. He worked with me on editing it, cleaning it up, and making it a larger story. And I found that I loved doing it and it worked. So he printed the piece and I started writing regularly for The Voice, followed by other places. Before that, I had only written longer fiction and suddenly I found myself enamored with the other side. Writing the essays specifically for I Was Told There'd Be Cake was such a wonderfully fun experience. With a book, you have the room take yourself out for a spin. You can let each essay take it’s own shape and to really tell a story over time. Whereas writing 800 words for a newspaper or magazine can be a bit like – speed dating.

...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sloane Crosley at BookBrowse
The Clasp jacket How Did You Get This Number jacket I Was Told There'd Be Cake jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sloane Crosley but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Daniel Orozco

    Daniel Orozco

    Daniel Orozco's stories have appeared in The Best American Short Stories, The Best American Mystery Stories, The Best American Essays, and the Pushcart Prize anthology, as well as in publications such as Harper's Magazine, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    I Was Told There'd Be Cake

    Try:
    Orientation
    by Daniel Orozco

  • Cheryl Peck

    Cheryl Peck

    Cheryl Peck lives with her cat, Babycakes, in Three Rivers, Michigan, where she rarely sits on lawn chairs. Fat Girls and Lawn Chairs was her first book. She printed the first edition through a friend's publishing and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    I Was Told There'd Be Cake

    Try:
    Fat Girls and Lawn Chairs
    by Cheryl Peck

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Under the Udala Trees
by Chinelo Okparanta

Raw, emotionally intelligent and unflinchingly honest--a triumph.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.