Marina Lewycka biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Marina Lewycka

Marina Lewycka

Marina Lewycka Biography

Marina Lewycka, the daughter of two Ukrainians who were taken to Germany as forced laborers by the Nazis, was born in a British-run refugee camp in Kiel, Germany, in 1946. Her family settled in the UK shortly after. She studied at Keele University in Staffordshire, and has written a number of books of practical advice for carers of the elderly, published by Age Concern. Described as funny, open and energized, she is a longtime resident of Sheffield, England where she used to lecture in media studies at Sheffield Hallam University.  She is still attached to the University, but on a part-time basis.

Her first novel, The Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian (2005) was published when she was 58.  It tells of the exploits of two feuding sisters trying to save their elderly father from a Ukrainian divorcee, Valentina. It won the 2005 Saga Award for Wit and the 2005 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize (Lewycka was the first female winner of the prize which is awarded at the Hay literary festival and includes having a pig named after the novel!); and was shortlisted for the 2005 Orange Prize for Fiction.

Before Tractors, the only creative work she had had published was a poem in an Arts Council magazine about 30 years ago.  Often she doubted her dream of becoming a published novelist, but she says, "writing was a compulsion. Lots of very good writers never get published, and that could easily have happened to me. People think that good writers will always come out in the end, but I don't believe that." 

Tractors draws heavily on her own life, in fact initially she set out to write a memoir of her mother's life based on a tape of recollections she recorded in Ukrainian before she died, but Lewycka soon realized that she just didn't know enough, "so I was going to have to make stuff up, and in a way it was very liberating."  The tape also gave her an excuse to travel to Ukraine where she met her mother's sister for the first time.  Her aunt, some years younger than Lewycka's mother, had not heard from her sister in 62 years.

In an interview with the Guardian newspaper, she is asked how her family feel about becoming material for Tractors; to which she replies, "They have been very generous about it, really .... I feel bad about my sister. It must be awful for her, and I'd hate it if it happened to me. But you write about what you know. At least you start off by writing about what you know, and then the worst thing is that you invent stuff, and no one really knows what's real and what's invented, and in the end you don't even know yourself."

Lewycka found the key to unlocking her creative skills in the realization that she could express serious issues through humor. "You get funnier as you get older, but I hadn't connected with my sense of humour. I did for everyday purposes, but [before Tractors] I didn't have the confidence to do it with what I wrote. Tractors felt like a last fling really. I thought, 'What the hell? It doesn't matter what I write. I'll have a laugh and stick it on the internet.'"

After spending the best part of a decade writing Tractors, she took a creative writing course at Sheffield Hallam University to polish what she had written.  At the end of the course she was approached by the external examiner, who was also an agent, to see whether she wanted him to represent her.  She did!

Her second novel was published in the UK as Two Caravans in Spring 2007 and, later in the year, as Strawberry Fields in the USA and Canada. Lewycka's third novel, We Are All Made of Glue, was released in July 2009.

Marina Lewycka's website

This bio was last updated on 07/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Marina Lewycka at BookBrowse
Strawberry Fields (Two Caravans) jacket A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Marina Lewycka but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Monica Ali

    Monica Ali

    Monica Ali is the daughter of English and Bangladeshi parents.

    She came to England at the age of three, and her first home was Bolton in Greater Manchester. Ali later studied at Oxford University.

    Her first novel, Brick ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Strawberry Fields (Two Caravans)

    Try:
    Brick Lane
    by Monica Ali

  • Chris Cleave

    Chris Cleave

    Chris Cleave is a novelist and a columnist for The Guardian newspaper in London.

    His debut novel Incendiary won a 2006 Somerset Maugham Award, was shortlisted for the 2006 Commonwealth Writers Prize, won the United States... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Strawberry Fields (Two Caravans)

    Try:
    Little Bee
    by Chris Cleave

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.