P.J. O'Rourke biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

P.J. O'Rourke

P.J. O'Rourke

How to pronounce P.J. O'Rourke: o-RORK

P.J. O'Rourke Biography

P.J. O'Rourke is the best-selling author of several books, including Modern Manners, The Bachelor Home Companion, Republican Party Reptile, Holidays in Hell, Parliament of Whores, Give War A Chance, All the Trouble in the World, Age and Guile Beat Youth, Innocence, and a Bad Haircut, and now, Eat the Rich.

Born in 1947 in Toledo, Ohio, he graduated from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, then won a Woodrow Wilson Fellowship to study for an MA in English at Johns Hopkins. In the early 1970s, he wrote for and edited several "underground" publications, including a Baltimore weekly called Harry. He joined the National Lampoon in 1973, became its managing editor in 1975, and was named editor-in-chief in 1978. While at the Lampoon he created, with Doug Kenney, The National Lampoon 1964 Yearbook Parody and, with John Hughes, The National Lampoon Sunday Newspaper Parody.

After leaving the Lampoon in 1981, O'Rourke became a freelance writer for such insanely diverse publications as Car and Driver, The American Spectator, Playboy, Esquire, Vanity Fair, Automobile, House and Garden, The New Republic, The New York Times Book Review, Parade, Smart, Harper's and Rolling Stone, where he is currently the magazine's Foreign Affairs Desk Chief.

O'Rourke's books have been translated into a dozen languages and have been bestsellers worldwide. Three have been New York Times hardcover bestsellers: Parliament of Whores and Give War A Chance, both of which went to #1, as well as All the Trouble in the World. When not on the road, he divides his time between New Hampshire and Washington, DC.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 03/20/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by P.J. O'Rourke at BookBrowse
Eat The Rich jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for P.J. O'Rourke but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • David Brooks

    David Brooks

    David Brooks was born in Toronto in 1961 and grew up in New York City in Stuyvesant Town. He graduated from the University of Chicago in 1983 with a degree in history. Brooks served as a reporter and later op-ed editor for ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Eat The Rich

    Try:
    Bobos In Paradise
    by David Brooks

  • William D. Danko, Ph.D.

    William D. Danko, Ph.D.

    William D. Danko, Ph.D., is associate professor and chair of marketing at the University at Albany, State University of New York. He is the co-author of The Millionaire Next Door, and his academic publications have ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Eat The Rich

    Try:
    The Millionaire Next Door
    by William D. Danko, Ph.D.

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.