Kirsten Miller biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Kirsten Miller

Kirsten Miller

Kirsten Miller Biography

Kirsten Miller (born 1973) works in advertising in New York City and is the author of the Kiki Strike series and The Eternal Ones. In 2001, the front lawn of a Manhattan nursing home collapsed to reveal an underground room, giving Miller the idea for the first book of the Kiki Strike series, set in the underground tunnels and rooms beneath the city. She created Kiki Strike and the Irregulars (named after Sherlock Holmes' Baker Street Irregulars) to explore these secret passageways. Kirsten is also co-author of a young adult novel, Nightmares! with Jason Segel.

Kirsten Miller's website

This bio was last updated on 06/07/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Kirsten Miller explains the inspiration behind Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City, the first in a series of adventures for young teens.

What are your favorite children’s books?

The Westing Game, His Dark Materials, 21 Balloons, Half Magic, The Shining, The Hound of the Baskervilles

I don’t believe there’s any such thing as a “children’s book.” A good story is a good story. It’s that simple. I find The Westing Game just as entertaining now as I did when I was 10 years old. I’ve even been known to thumb through Dr. Seuss when I’m at the bookstore.

Who are your favorite children’s authors?

Phillip Pullman, Stephen King, Jonathan Stroud, Lemony Snicket

I’ve always liked my fiction dark and disturbing. By the time I turned twelve, I’d read every Stephen King book I could get my hands on. I’m afraid it didn’t do much for my mental health. I still check behind the clothes in my closet before I go to sleep every night, and I’m convinced that one of my bathrooms is haunted.

Who or what was your biggest influence in deciding to become a writer?

I started writing stories in the third grade, but my subject matter tended to be a little bizarre. My teachers were rarely amused to read my accounts of man-eating shrubs or haunted broom closets, and most of them thought I was very odd. (And...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Kirsten Miller at BookBrowse
Kiki Strike: The Darkness Dwellers jacket The Eternal Ones jacket The Empress's Tomb jacket Kiki Strike jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Kirsten Miller but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams is the best-selling author of A Perfect Crime, The Tutor, The Fan, and Lights Out, for which he received an Edgar® Award nomination; and Down The Rabbit Hole, a novel for children. He lives in Falmouth, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kiki Strike

    Try:
    Down The Rabbit Hole
    by Peter Abrahams

  • Carl Hiaasen

    Carl Hiaasen

    Carl Hiaasen was born and raised in Florida. He is the author of a number of novels, including Native Tongue, Strip Tease, Stormy Weather and Lucky You. He has also written a few non-fiction books, including Team ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kiki Strike

    Try:
    Hoot
    by Carl Hiaasen

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Last Ballad
    by Wiley Cash
    A hundred years ago or so, farming land west of Charlotte, North Carolina was given over to giant ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner

A love story for things lost and restored, a lyrical hymn to the power of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Giveaway!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.