Kirsten Miller biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Kirsten Miller

Kirsten Miller

Kirsten Miller Biography

Kirsten Miller (born 1973) works in advertising in New York City and is the author of the Kiki Strike series and The Eternal Ones. In 2001, the front lawn of a Manhattan nursing home collapsed to reveal an underground room, giving Miller the idea for the first book of the Kiki Strike series, set in the underground tunnels and rooms beneath the city. She created Kiki Strike and the Irregulars (named after Sherlock Holmes' Baker Street Irregulars) to explore these secret passageways. Kirsten is also co-author of a young adult novel, Nightmares! with Jason Segel.

Kirsten Miller's website

This bio was last updated on 06/07/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

What are your favorite children’s books?

The Westing Game, His Dark Materials, 21 Balloons, Half Magic, The Shining, The Hound of the Baskervilles

I don’t believe there’s any such thing as a “children’s book.” A good story is a good story. It’s that simple. I find The Westing Game just as entertaining now as I did when I was 10 years old. I’ve even been known to thumb through Dr. Seuss when I’m at the bookstore.

Who are your favorite children’s authors?

Phillip Pullman, Stephen King, Jonathan Stroud, Lemony Snicket

I’ve always liked my fiction dark and disturbing. By the time I turned twelve, I’d read every Stephen King book I could get my hands on. I’m afraid it didn’t do much for my mental health. I still check behind the clothes in my closet before I go to sleep every night, and I’m convinced that one of my bathrooms is haunted.

Who or what was your biggest influence in deciding to become a writer?

I started writing stories in the third grade, but my subject matter tended to be a little bizarre. My teachers were rarely amused to read my accounts of man-eating shrubs or haunted broom closets, and most of them thought I was very odd. (And...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Kirsten Miller at BookBrowse
Kiki Strike: The Darkness Dwellers jacket The Eternal Ones jacket The Empress's Tomb jacket Kiki Strike jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Kirsten Miller but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams is the best-selling author of A Perfect Crime, The Tutor, The Fan, and Lights Out, for which he received an Edgar® Award nomination; and Down The Rabbit Hole, a novel for children. He lives in Falmouth, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kiki Strike

    Try:
    Down The Rabbit Hole
    by Peter Abrahams

  • Carl Hiaasen

    Carl Hiaasen

    Carl Hiaasen was born and raised in Florida. He is the author of a number of novels, including Native Tongue, Strip Tease, Stormy Weather and Lucky You. He has also written a few non-fiction books, including Team ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kiki Strike

    Try:
    Hoot
    by Carl Hiaasen

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Ghachar Ghochar
    by Vivek Shanbhag
    The Bengaluru (aka Bangalore) that has dominated economic news headlines over the past decade is the...
  • Book Jacket: Caught in the Revolution
    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport
    So taken were BookBrowse's First Impression reviewers by the inside look at the start of the Russian...
  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Mercies in Disguise
    by Gina Kolata

    A story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Lola
    by Melissa Scrivner Love

    An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

They say that in the end truth will triumph, but it's a lie.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -