Tom Shachtman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Tom Shachtman
Photo: Mark Connolly

Tom Shachtman

Tom Shachtman Biography

In Tom Shachtman's early adulthood he worked at CBS News for three years, learning the documentary craft on a wonderful series, The 21st Century, and then as Assistant Chief of the TV division of the National Geographic Society. After that he made documentaries for networks, local stations, syndicators, and other outlets, working as writer, and often as writer-producer-director. His best-known work was a trilogy of one-hour films: Children of Poverty, Children of Trouble, and Children of Violence. These won top prizes at San Francisco, New York International, and other festivals. His films have also won a half-dozen New York area Emmys, and been shown at the White House and in Congress.

Shachtman's first book, The Day America Crashed, was published in 1979, and since then he written nearly three dozen others. Currently he is working on a new one, The Science of the Founding Fathers, to be published by Palgrave Macmillan. Research on this book is being partly underwritten by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

His best-known recent book is Rumspringa: To Be or Not To Be Amish.

His book, Absolute Zero and the Conquest of Cold became the basis for a two-hour documentary special for BBC and PBS, broadcast in 2008. The program and his script for it won the American Institute of Physics' science writing award for 2009. The programs were made possible by a major grant from the National Science Foundation, with additional funding from Sloan.

He has also written books for children, including three novels, Beachmaster, Wavebender, and Driftwhister, (1988-1991) now published in several languages. His non-fiction children's books include The President Builds a House, about the work of Habitat for Humanity (1989), and, with Harriet Shelare, Video Power (1988).

His collaborations with criminologist Robert K. Ressler, the former FBI agent who coined the term "serial killers" and knows more about them than anyone else in the world, include Whoever Fights Monsters and I Have Lived in the Monster, both multi-million copy best-sellers overseas.

In addition to books, he has written articles for The New York Times, Newsday, Smithsonian, and the Hoover Digest, as well as for Huffington Post, History News Network, and the Washington Post's book blog.

He is a lifetime member of the Writers Guild of America, a longtime member of The Authors Guild, and a former president of the board and current trustee of The Writers Room in New York City, an urban writers' colony. He has recently stepped down from trusteeships at two other non-profits, the Connecticut Humanities Council and The Upper Housatonic Valley National Heritage Area.

He holds a B.S. in experimental psychology from Tufts University, an M.F.A. in theater from Carnegie Mellon, and he has taught writing at New York University and at Harvard University Extension. He has lectured on topics based on his books at more than a dozen other colleges and universities around the country.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 01/12/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tom Shachtman at BookBrowse
Airlift to America jacket Rumspringa jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tom Shachtman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Ayad Akhtar

    Ayad Akhtar

    Ayad Akhtar is an American-born, first generation Pakistani-American from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He holds degrees in Theater from Brown University and in Directing from the Graduate Film Program at Columbia University, where ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rumspringa

    Try:
    American Dervish
    by Ayad Akhtar

  • Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

    Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

    Howard C. Cutler is an American writer and psychiatrist who practices in Phoenix, Arizona.

    He co-wrote The Art of Happiness with the 14th Dalai Lama. It was on The New York Times Best Seller list for 97 weeks. The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rumspringa

    Try:
    The Art of Happiness
    by Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

We recommend 15 similar authors

View all 15 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Under the Udala Trees
by Chinelo Okparanta

Raw, emotionally intelligent and unflinchingly honest--a triumph.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.