Maureen Johnson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Maureen Johnson
Photo: Heather Weston

Maureen Johnson

Maureen Johnson Biography

Maureen Johnson was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

She was always one of those reading and writing kids. After a little dalliance with astronomy and archeology, she declared her intention to become a writer at the age of eight or nine or so.

She attended an all-girl Catholic prep high school. She graduated from the University of Delaware where she was a writing major, but spent most of my time working on shows. After college, she became the literary manager of a wonderful (but now defunct) Philadelphia theater company. Soon after that, she moved to New York to study theatrical dramaturgy and writing at Columbia University School of the Arts.

Her first book, The Key to the Golden Firebird, came out in May 2004.

While on a writing fellowship in Edinburgh, Scotland, where she lived in a castle for a month, she completed final edits on her second book, The Bermudez Triangle. She also began work on a book called 13 Little Blue Envelopes. The 80 page (single spaced) journal of her time there provided a good deal of inspiration for Ginny's travels.

Devilish, her fourth book, was very loosely based on her Catholic high school experiences.

Her fifth book, Girl At Sea, was released in June 2007. She refer to this book as the companion of 13 Little Blue Envelopes, as it is also a European fantasy, this time taking place off the coast off Italy. It features the three P's: pyramids, pirates, and pizza. Also, a fancy tattoo, two handsome guys, one Swedish-English girl, an awesome bathtub, jellyfish, an exciting historical backstory in London, tiny paper hats, and danger.

So later she decided she had to go back and write something about the world she knew ... namely, the scrappy theater world of New York City. Suite Scarlett came out in May, 2008. The sequel, Scarlett Fever, came out in February 2010. In between, she wrote a book called Let It Snow with John Green and Lauren Myracle. Let it Snow became a New York Times Bestseller in November, 2009. She also contributed to Vacations from Hell, along with Libba Bray, Cassie Clare, Claudia Gray, and Sarah Mlynowski. And she has a story in the groundbreaking Zombies vs. Unicorns collection, edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier.

The sequel to 13 Little Blue Envelopes, The Last Little Blue Envelope, came out in April 2011. In addition to writing books, she was also a scriptwriter for the Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Handheld videogames.

She is also the author of The Bane Chronicles series (co-authored with Cassandra Clare) and The Shades of London series.

She lives in New York City, and travel to the UK on a regular basis and has a very active Twitter account.

Link to Maureen's website

This biography was last updated on 08/10/2016.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Maureen Johnson at BookBrowse
Devilish jacket 13 Little Blue Envelopes jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Maureen Johnson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.