Tom Standage biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Tom Standage

Tom Standage

Tom Standage Biography

Tom Standage is the business editor at The Economist magazine and editor-in-chief of its website, Economist.com. He is the author of five history books, An Edible History of Humanity (2009), A History of the World in Six Glasses (2005), The Turk (2002), The Neptune File (2000) and The Victorian Internet (1998), at least two of which have been serialized as "Book of the Week" on BBC Radio 4.  The Victorian Internet: How The Victorians Wired the World, was made into a Channel 4 documentary.

He has previously covered science and technology for a number of newspapers and magazines, including The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, Wired, The Economist and Prospect. He holds a degree in engineering and computer science from Oxford University, is married and lives in Greenwich, London, with his wife and children.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 08/17/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tom Standage at BookBrowse
Writing on the Wall jacket An Edible History of Humanity jacket A History of the World in 6 Glasses jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tom Standage but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Nicholas A. Basbanes

    Nicholas A. Basbanes

    Nicholas A. Basbanes is an award-winning investigative journalist and was literary editor of the Worcester Sunday Telegram. His articles have appeared in The New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A History of the World in 6 Glasses

    Try:
    On Paper
    by Nicholas A. Basbanes

  • Barbara Freese

    Barbara Freese

    Barbara Freese is an Assistant Attorney General of Minnesota. She is known for her debut Coal: A Human History.

    Freese not only helped enforce her state's environmental laws but also became fascinated by the very substance ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A History of the World in 6 Glasses

    Try:
    Coal
    by Barbara Freese

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Spinster
by Kate Bolick

A bold, original, moving book that will inspire fanatical devotion and ignite debate.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.