Phyllis J. Green biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Author Image Not Available

Phyllis J. Green

Phyllis J. Green Biography

Phyllis Green is an internationally-published author of fiction, poetry and nonfiction. Her prize-winning long poems helped win an American Literary Magazine award for Sensations' Coney Island edition. The Illinois native won her first writing prize at the age of twelve. She earned her M.Ed. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Green is a former chair of the NC Speech, Language and Hearing Association's Private Practice Committee and is a member of the N. C. Writers' Network. Her book Spinning Straw chronicles one family's struggle with their son's mental illness. Green and her husband Ray live in Chapel Hill. They have four grandchildren.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 08/27/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Phyllis J. Green at BookBrowse
Spinning Straw jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Phyllis J. Green but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Bret Lott

    Bret Lott

    Bret Lott is a native of Los Angeles, California. His parents were raised in Mississippi and East Texas and relocated to Los Angeles in the 1950s.

    He is the author of a number of novels including A Song I Knew by Heart,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Spinning Straw

    Try:
    Jewel
    by Bret Lott

  • Clara Claiborne Park

    Clara Claiborne Park

    Clara Claiborne Park is the author of several books, including The Siege: A Family's Journey into the World of an Autistic Child, and was a prominent speaker about autism. She won the 1999 American Society of Magazine ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Spinning Straw

    Try:
    Exiting Nirvana
    by Clara Claiborne Park

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.