Michael Robotham biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael Robotham

Michael Robotham

Michael Robotham Biography

Born in Australia in November 1960, Michael Robotham grew up in small country towns that had more dogs than people and more flies than dogs. He escaped in 1979 and became a cadet journalist on an afternoon newspaper in Sydney.

For the next fourteen years he wrote for newspapers and magazines in Australia, Britain and America. As a senior feature writer for the UK's Mail on Sunday he was among the first people to view the letters and diaries of Czar Nicholas II and his wife Empress Alexandra, unearthed in the Moscow State Archives in 1991. He also gained access to Stalin's Hitler files, which had been missing for nearly fifty years until a cleaner stumbled upon a cardboard box that had been misplaced and misfiled.

In 1993, Robotham quit journalism to become a ghostwriter, collaborating with politicians, pop stars, psychologists, adventurers and show-business personalities to write their autobiographies. Several of these non-fiction titles were bestsellers with combined sales of more than 2 million copies. He has since published crime fiction novels under his own name.

His first novel, a psychological thriller called The Suspect, was chosen by the world's largest consortium of book clubs as only the fifth "International Book of the Month", making it the top recommendation to 28 million book club members in fifteen countries.

Michael's novels have since been translated into 23 languages. He is a twice winner of the Ned Kelly Award for Australia's Crime Novel of the Year and has twice been shortlisted for the UK Crime Writers Association Steel Dagger (The Night Ferry (2007) and Shatter (2009)) and twice for the CWA's acclaimed Gold Dagger award (Say You're Sorry (2013) and Life Or Death in (2015)).

Michael lives in Sydney.

Link to Michael's website

This biography was last updated on 10/17/2015.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Michael Robotham

This interview is reproduced with the kind permission of ShotsMag.co.uk.  The interview was conducted by Ayo Onatade.

For readers that don't know much about you, would you like to start off by giving us a bit of background information about yourself? I know from my research that you have ghostwritten a number of well-known autobiographies and you have been a journalist. How did this start?
I'm 43 years old, I'm married with three beautiful daughters, and I live in paradise. The northern beaches of Sydney - just a few minutes away from the beach, but I spent ten years in London as a journalist and was a ghost writer before that. I grew up in a very, very small country town in Australia, and when I say small we're talking a few hundred people, maybe at least three hundred people, five hundred dogs and three million flies and where they still deliver the mail by horseback! When I came to Sydney for my first job interview as a cadet journalist I had never been in a building more than three floors high, I had never been in a lift and I had never seen an escalator. So I was an absolute hayseed. I started out as a journalist at the age of seventeen on a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael Robotham at BookBrowse
Close Your Eyes jacket Say You're Sorry jacket Bleed for Me jacket The Wreckage jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael Robotham but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams

    Peter Abrahams is the best-selling author of A Perfect Crime, The Tutor, The Fan, and Lights Out, for which he received an Edgar® Award nomination; and Down The Rabbit Hole, a novel for children. He lives in Falmouth, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Suspect

    Try:
    Oblivion
    by Peter Abrahams

  • Lisa Scottoline

    Lisa Scottoline

    Lisa Scottoline is the New York Times bestselling author and Edgar award-winning author of 20 novels, including Don't Go, published April 9, 2013. She also writes a weekly column with her daughter Francesca Serritella for the... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Suspect

    Try:
    Every Fifteen Minutes
    by Lisa Scottoline

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.