Murder in Mykonos: Book summary and reviews of Murder in Mykonos by Jeffrey Siger

Murder in Mykonos

by Jeffrey Siger

Murder in Mykonos
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2009
    283 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A young woman on holiday to Mykonos, the most famous of Greece’s Aegean Cycladic islands, simply disappears off the face of the earth. And no one notices.

That is, until a body turns up on a pile of bones under the floor of a remote mountain church. Then the island's new police chief—the young, politically incorrect, former Athens homicide detective Andreas Kaldis—starts finding bodies, bones, and suspects almost everywhere he looks.

Teamed with the canny, nearly-retired local homicide chief, Andreas tries to find the killer before the media can destroy the island's fabled reputation with a barrage of world-wide attention on a mystery that’s haunted Mykonos undetected for decades.

Just when it seems things can't get any worse, another young woman disappears and political niceties no longer matter. With the investigation now a rescue operation, Andreas finds himself plunging into ancient myths and forgotten island places, racing against a killer intent on claiming a new victim who is herself determined to outstep him.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Siger's view of Mykonos (where he lives part-time) is nicely nuanced, as is the mystery's ambiguous resolution. Kaldis's feisty personality and complex backstory are appealing as well, solid foundations for a projected series." - Publishers Weekly.

"His sense of place recalls Donna Leon's Venetian series, but his portrayal of rape and murder is all his own. For collections where foreign-set mysteries circulate." - Library Journal.

The information about Murder in Mykonos shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

SUSAN

HARD TO PUT DOWN
I was drawn to the title of this book because I visited Mykonos this summer on a Mediterranean cruise and was entranced by the beauty of the stark white buildings against the azure sky. I was hopeful that I could relive the experience through the author's eyes, and I was certainly not disappointed. His descriptive writing allows the reader to perfectly picture the scene he is creating.

The book captured my attention from the very first page and did not let go. The reader is mostly spared the gory details of many serial killer novels, which was appealing to me. The mystery was intriguing and it was hard to book the book down until I found out how it would end. This is definitely a book that I would recommend to anyone who likes mysteries, and this one has the added bonus of being set on a beautiful island.

Shelby

Murder He Wrote
Jeffrey Siger's first book is a great quick read familiar to readers of James Patterson's books. I didn't leave changed but enjoyed the ride. The book has a perfect setting in the Greek isles, accessible writing, real characters and more than enough suspense to keep me up past my bedtime to finish it. I can see this being made into a nail biter of a movie or become the first in a series written by Mr. Sigler.

Anne

Murder in Mykonos
I know where my next vacation will be ... Anyone who can read this book and NOT want to go to Greece needs his head examined! The mystery part of the book is well-plotted [although the resolution is a wee bit sudden and pat], but the landscape and atmosphere described by Siger are vivid and beautifully detailed. I could almost smell the drunk Europeans and hear the roar of the motorbikes and tavernas on Mykonos.
The characters are also well-depicted; they're believable and -- for the most part -- congenial or despicable, depending on Siger's intent.
Can't wait for the next in the series!

Virginia

Murder in Mykonos
I really enjoyed this book. It was an easy read. I loved the twists and turns and really had no clue as to who did the deed! Loved the detailed descriptions of Mykonos -- made me want to visit the island.

Gail

Murder in Mykonos by Jeffrey Siger
I really enjoyed this murder mystery by new author Jeffrey Siger. The plot held my attention and the characters were well developed. The short paragraphs with frequent breaks reminded me of the popular James Patterson stories. By leaving the killer's name to the very end of the story made me want to skip to the end of the book.

Elaine

The Story Builds
This book is a slow read in the beginning,, but worth sticking with! The characters and story build as you go. A new writer definitely worth watching. The main character makes believable decisions that ring true despite a complicated personal and political situation. Very beautiful descriptions of the setting also. This is a character I would like to read more about. Hope this is the beginning of a series.

...11 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Jeffrey Siger, born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, practiced law at a major Wall Street law firm and, while there, served as Special Counsel to the citizens group responsible for reporting on New York City's prison conditions. He left Wall Street to establish his own New York City law firm and continued as one of its name partners. Now he lives and writes full-time in Mykonos, his adopted home of 25 years.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more mysteries...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.