Close My Eyes: Book summary and reviews of Close My Eyes by Sophie McKenzie

Close My Eyes

by Sophie McKenzie

Close My Eyes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2013
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

Gone Girl meets Before I Go to Sleep in this riveting psychological thriller about a grieving mother who finds out years after her daughter's death that her child may still be alive.

It's been eight grief-filled years since Geniver Loxley lost her daughter, Beth. Once a writer, Gen has settled into a life of half-hearted teaching while her husband, Art, makes his name and their fortune - and pressures her into yet another round of IVF. For Gen, battle-scarred from years of failed attempts to get pregnant with a second baby, this feels like a cruel attempt to replace Beth. Life without her child is inconceivable, unbearable - but still it goes on.

And then a woman arrives on Gen's doorstep, saying the very thing she longs to hear: that her daughter was not stillborn, but was spirited away as a healthy child, and is out there, waiting to be found. So why is Art reluctant to get involved? To save his wife from further hurt? Or is it something else ... something more sinister? What is the truth about Beth Loxley?

Close My Eyes is a deeply chilling and addictively compelling page-turner that grabs onto the reader and doesn't let go.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Although this novel is being touted as a read-alike for Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl (2012), it lacks the complexity and depth of that title; instead, it more closely resembles Elizabeth Haynes' slam-bang suspenser Into the Darkest Corner (2012)." - Booklist

"McKenzie's maiden thriller is a hit, even if it becomes a bit crowded in the process." - Kirkus

"Those who like their thrillers with heaping spoonfuls of romance will be satisfied." - Publishers Weekly

"Close My Eyes starts with a parent's worst nightmare and builds from there, twists and twists again, delivering a final punch that will leave you gasping." - Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of Buried Secrets and Paranoia

"Every year I read a new psychological suspense novel by a new author that I rave about for months… This year it's Close My Eyes. I literally cannot wait to start raving abou this book and it kills me it won't be published until summer. This is definitely one of my favorite books of 2013." – Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library

The information about Close My Eyes shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Sue Braun

Close My Eyes
In her first adult novel and her first to be published in the USA, McKenzie vividly brings us every couple's nightmare. Not just the loss of a child after a much wanted and anticipated pregnancy that is essentially without complication to the heartbreaking and sudden delivery of a stillborn child. Not just a stillborn child but one who is reportedly so disfigured and misshapen that her very presence is hidden from the mother both at the hospital and later the funeral. The pain of a loss like this is overpowering and especially so as there can be no closure. The hopes, dreams and desires that accompany the birth of a child are suddenly dashed and ripped away without ceremony and the pain felt is akin to that of a missing limb for the mother. A pain, that unless one has experienced it themselves is inconceivable to friends, family and even the spouse. Pain that Geniver, the mother in question will never quite overcome no matter what therapy, support or encouragement she gets from the outside world. She has only to look in the mirror to see the results of that experience.

Fast forward 8 years. Her husband feels compelled that they visit a fertility expert to recapture what they lost and begins to apply pressure in this pursuit, refusing to concede and acknowledge what his wife and partner is still experiencing. A knock at the door brings it all back tenfold when a woman appears with a deathbed confession of her sister's that confirms the nagging suspicions that Geniver has felt. Her child IS alive and to make matters worse her husband has known this all along. While friends and family try to convince her that this is nothing more than a scheme to extort money from her the woman is the victim of a hit and run accident which only helps to fuel a paranoia that causes Geniver to question everyone and everything in her life. When a former friend of her husband's listens and offers to help her get to the bottom of the accusations, she embarks on a game worthy of some of the greatest English mystery writers of the past.

With shades of "Gaslight", "Bunny Lake is Missing" and a tip of the hat to "The Other and The Omen", Ms Mckenzie builds a maze of a mystery that would have attracted Hitchcock. I encourage readers to push past the beginning of what appears to be simply another example of "chick lit" or a soap opera and give in as we watch Geniver's life simultaneously spiral out of control and back again. While all have tried to make her feel inept and weak, we watch and cheer as she gains the strength to push forward to go beyond the smoke and mirrors to the spine tingling chilling last page. You won't be disappointed. One can only hope this is not the lone attempt by Ms. McKenzie in adult literature and we have many more to look forward to in the future.

Tracy B. (New Castle, DE)

Two stories in one
Just who is writing The Special Child story? Is it a strange story that Gen in writing? She is an author.That in itself is a morbid twist.

Art is Gen's wealthy husband. Is he keeping a secret? What really happened to baby Beth? Gen & Lorcan are trying to cast off depressing & difficult pasts, or so we think. In this process they join together in the search for Beth. But just when you think you have figured out who you can trust it all changes again and again and again. Wonderful!

Susan P. (Boston, MA)

Close My Eyes
A London woman very close to the end of her childbearing years still cannot forget her stillborn child from 8 years ago and is not sure whether she wants to keep trying IVF, as her husband wants. Then a stranger tells her that her child is alive. The news sends her into an obsessive hunt of trying to find the truth (good or bad) and trying to know whom to trust. An excellent page turner for readers of Rosamund Lupton, S. J. Watson, etc.

Carol N. (San Jose, CA)

Close My Eyes
What a ride! This psychological thriller deals with the ultimate betrayal. Filled with paranoia and confusion, this plot drags you in and keeps you engaged until the end. What a twisted road, the main character, Geniver, travels – from the lost of her only child at birth to 8 years later when a stranger tells her that her husband has betrayed her. The child is alive and well, but hidden. Who does one trust? Geniver searches for her child without the support of her family or close friends and along the way uncovers some very dark secrets. What she learns horrifies her. . . . what is her husband hiding? As she continues to delve into their past, she finds the answers to her questions...answers that will change her life forever. With a surprise ending one doesn't see coming, this author weaves a breathless thriller that kept this reader reading well into the night.

Darlene C. (Simpsonville, SC)

Close My Eyes by Sophie Mckenzie
I really enjoyed this book and any comparison to Gyllian Flynn's "Gone Girl" would be right on the money. The story line is different but the slow build, and the unpredictable twists and turns that get you hooked and unable to put the book down, are the same. Even if you're savvy enough to figure out who...the why will keep you riveted to the end. If you're a new reader or a long time reader (who can easily predict plots), this is a great read. You WILL be surprised! Bravo!

Ann B. (Bethlehem, PA)

A Thrilling Ride
Like any good roller coaster thrill ride, you climb into the car, strap yourself securely, and begin the climb to the top. So goes this mystery thriller. Along the way, the characters are introduced, setting and plot are developed and predictions and conclusions are drawn with care. At the pinnacle of the first hill, one appears to see clearly, but then the harrowing ride begins. Close My Eyes is a Class A roller coaster ride, as we enter each hairpin turn with lightening fast speed, changing everything we have come to believe upside-down. And like most good coaster rides, we come to a screeching halt with a sense of wanting more...or do we?
Close My Eyes is this season's Gone Girl mystery thriller, with all the energy but more satisfying. Sophie McKenzie has written a book that will keep you thinking long after the book cover closes.

...34 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Sophie McKenzie Author Biography

photo: Jonathan Ring

Sophie McKenzie is the bestselling author of more than fifteen novels for children and teens in the UK, including the award winning Girl, Missing and Blood Ties. She has won numerous awards, was one of the first Richard and Judy children's book club winners, and has twice been longlisted for the prestigious Carnegie Medal. She lives in London and writes full-time.

Author Interview
Link to Sophie McKenzie's Website

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.