Don't Ever Get Old: Book summary and reviews of Don't Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman

Don't Ever Get Old

by Daniel Friedman

Don't Ever Get Old
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2012
    304 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

This is the first in a one-of-a-kind, spectacularly well-written mystery series featuring Buck Schatz, an eighty-seven-year-old retired Memphis cop with a know-it-all plugged-in grandson as his sidekick. When Buck learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot. But lots of people want a piece of the stolen treasure, and Buck's investigation quickly attracts unfriendly attention from a Mississippi loan shark, a seven-foot tall Hasidic Jew and a bloodthirsty maniac hell-bent on rubbing out everybody who knows anything about the stolen gold. This is sure to be a big hit with readers who love Elmore Leonard, Walter Mosley, early Jonathan Lethem and superlative detective fiction in general.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews


BookBrowse Review
"Sadly, I was disappointed by Don't Ever Get Old, particularly from the humor standpoint. Most of it relies on the reader finding the main character's irascibility funny, but I found him to be somewhat mean-spirited and, in some respects, too close-to-home to be funny. But humor is very subjective, so if you find curmudgeons funny this might be the book for you. The plot is rather silly and improbable with a great many flaws. On the plus side, there were several poignant passages that did endear the character to me." - Kim Kovacs

Others Say
"Starred Review. A sardonically appealing debut for a detective who assures his long-suffering grandson, 'I care about people. I just don't like them.'" - Kirkus Reviews

"Starred Review. Friedman's excellent debut introduces a highly unusual hero, 87-year-old, politically incorrect Buck Schatz, a former member of the Memphis PD, who's become a living legend... Friedman makes his limited lead plausible, and bolsters the story line with wickedly funny dialogue." - Publisher's Weekly

"Daniel Friedman is the Jewish Elmore Leonard. Friedman is a master storyteller who can speed your heart up and stop it on a dime." - Andrew Shaffer, EvilReads.com

"Laugh-out-loud funny as well as surprisingly poignant. Kudos to Daniel Friedman for giving us a nearly ninety-year-old hero who's not going gently into that good night - he's going out with guns blazing, F-bombs flying and a pack of Lucky Strikes." - Lisa Brackmann, author of Rock Paper Tiger

The information about Don't Ever Get Old shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Margo Z

Thinking on the Big Issues
This book is written with the memory of a special person in the life of the author. Although there are times that the story is a little slow, the author is building to a really big finish. Behind the humor, of which there is plenty, you will also be thinking about the big issues of life and how they affect the characters and ultimately the reader. The details are in the telling of the story, so pay attention to the details while reading. The second book by this author is deeper in thought and will be with you long after you have closed the cover of the book. It is good to reflect on who one is and how you got there and how you can change for the better, but probably not Buck Schatz.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Daniel Friedman is a graduate of the University of Maryland and NYU School of Law. He lives in New York City.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more mysteries...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.