An Eagle Named Freedom: Book summary and reviews of An Eagle Named Freedom by Jeff Guidry

An Eagle Named Freedom

My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

by Jeff Guidry

An Eagle Named Freedom

Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

With the emotional intensity of A Lion Named Christian and the charm of Alex & Me, this is the inspiring story of a dedicated man who lovingly nursed a young eaglet with two broken wings back to health - and how this majestic bird later inspired him to triumph over his own life-threatening condition.

From the moment Jeff Guidry saw the emaciated baby eagle with broken wings, his life was changed. For weeks he and the staff at Sarvey Wildlife Care Center tended to the grievously injured bird. Miraculously, she recovered, and Jeff, a center volunteer, became her devoted caretaker.

Though Freedom would never fly, she had Jeff as her wings. And after Jeff was diagnosed with stage 3 non-Hodgkin's lymphoma in 2000, Freedom returned his gift. Between sessions of debilitating chemotherapy, Jeff went back to Sarvey and began taking Freedom for walks that soothed his spirit and gave him the strength to fight. When he learned he was cancer free, Jeff's first stop was Sarvey to walk with Freedom. Somehow this special bird seemed to understand the significance of the day. For the very first time she wrapped both her wings around Jeff, enveloping him in an avian hug.

In March 2008, Jeff shared his extraordinary experience with his friend Gayle in an e-mail of eight hundred words:

When Freedom came in she could not stand. Both wings were broken, her left wing in 4 places. .... We here at the Sarvey Wildlife Care Center made the decision to give her a chance at life. ....

That e-mail would unexpectedly circle the globe and inspire countless fans eager to know more. In An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff tells the full story of his bond with Freedom and introduces the other wildlife and volunteers who have been saved by Sarvey. A tender tale of hope, love, trust, and life, this moving true story is an affirmation of the spiritual connection that humans and animals share.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Guidry is a gifted wordsmith who, like the Native American storytellers from whom he draws inspiration, vividly describes the breathtaking beauty of the landscape and the dedicated staff who expend their time, energies, and, in some cases, their fortunes rescuing wildlife." - Library Journal

"[T]his inspirational memoir of mutual courage and compassion is sure to have wide appeal." - Kirkus Reviews

"A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation….[A] gorgeous tale of redemption." - Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse

"I could not put this book down." - Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl

The information about An Eagle Named Freedom shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Julia A. (New York, NY)

An Eagle named Freedom
"An Eagle named Freedom" is a book that will make the reader laugh, cry, get angry, feel inspired, and be filled with amazement. This book came about almost by accident; it began as an 800-word e-mail to a friend of the author—an e-mail that was forwarded around the world and generated so much interest that the book just had to happen. Knowing its origin, I came to the book with very little in the way of expectations; maybe I was skeptically hoping it wouldn’t be another Jonathan Livingston Seagull. After all, one of those is enough for a lifetime. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself becoming involved with the human and animal (as Guidry calls them, the “wild ones”) almost immediately. The uncommon courage of both the caregivers at Sarvey Wildlife Care Center and their wild ones is awe-inspiring. It’s a tribute to the eagle of the title that the author never gets sappily sentimental, even when describing his successful fight against cancer, aided by Freedom, or the ultimately unsuccessful cancer battle of Kaye, the driving force behind Sarvey. The writing style is straightforward and direct. While not strictly chronological, the narrative has enough order to keep the reader engrossed and involved all the way through. In short, the book is a little gem.

Cheryl K. (East Aurora, New York)

Freedom
This book was wonderful on many levels. Not only does Jeff Guidry form a lasting friendship and bond with a beautiful eagle named Freedom, but he also shows the reader the importance of lessons to be learned and shared with all creatures on earth. The Sarvey shelter exemplifies all that is decent and compassionate in humans who care for these wounded wildlife. I would recommend this book to anyone in need of an uplifting experience.

Linda W. (Riverview, Florida)

Something special here
This is a book from the heart, both from the author and all the creatures with which he built connections. Freedom not only describes the beautiful eagle he rescued but the name Freedom define the unconditional love between Jeff Guidry and Freedom. A truly inspirational book.

Jenna B. (Fairfield, CA)

Great Read
When I first received this book I wasn't sure it would be my cup of tea, but I gave it a try and lo and behold had the whole thing read in one afternoon. This is an incredible story of animals and how they impact humans. I know am looking in to volunteering at my local animal shelter because of this book. I think that anyone who is an animal lover and has the faith that animals can reflect on human behavior then this is the book for you. I am recommending it to everyone that I know. I will forever look at animals differently now because of this fantastic book.

Sherrill B. (Columbia City, In.)

An Eagle Named Freedom
This is an inspiring true story about hope, love,trust.and life. A spiritual connection between a human and an eagle named Freedom The human was there for the eagle when she was brought to the wildlife sanctuary where the author volunteered. He was her caretaker and healer.When he was in pain from cancer hiss thoughts were of Freedom and that he must not give up but have the courage to fight and live and be together with his spiritual connection the eagle named Freedom.

Debi B. (Charleston, SC)

An Eagle Named Freedom
This is a beautiful little book about a man and an eagle who found themselves in each other's life and the fiercely devoted relationship that developed. Jeff Guidry was caregiver and lifesaver to Freedom, the rescued eagle. In turn, Freedom was Jeff Guidry's lifesaver during his struggle with cancer. It's also a story of the love, trust and the spiritual connection we, as humans have with animals. Thank you, Mr. Guidry, for sharing your story.

...15 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more biographies & memoirs...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.