The Dead and the Gone: Book summary and reviews of The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer

The Dead and the Gone

by Susan Beth Pfeffer

The Dead and the Gone

Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Life as We Knew It enthralled and devastated readers with its brutal but hopeful look at an apocalyptic event--an asteroid hitting the moon, setting off a tailspin of horrific climate changes. Now this harrowing companion novel examines the same events as they unfold in New York City, revealed through the eyes of seventeen-year-old Puerto Rican Alex Morales. When Alex's parents disappear in the aftermath of tidal waves, he must care for his two younger sisters, even as Manhattan becomes a deadly wasteland, and food and aid dwindle.

With haunting themes of family, faith, personal change, and courage, this powerful new novel explores how a young man takes on unimaginable responsibilities.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Those who enjoyed the journal style of the companion novel (Life as We Knew It) may be surprised by the switch to third-person narration, but most will be delighted to observe the same depth of character and the same ability to move readers to tears." - VOYA, ages 11-18.

"As in the previous novel, Life as We Knew It (2006), realistically bone-chilling despair and death join with the larger question of how the haves and have-nots of a major metropolitan city will ultimately survive in an increasingly lawless, largely deserted urban wasteland. Incredibly engaging." - Kirkus Reviews.

"Starred Review. The powerful images and wrenching tragedies will haunt readers. Ages 12–up." - Publishers Weekly.

The information about The Dead and the Gone shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

mizz awesum!

this book:
I believe that this book was........AMAZING IN MANY WAYS! Just the action in the story gets me biting my nails. you have to read it to believe it....trust me.

Jade

BEST BOOK EVER!!!
OMG! I LOVE THIS BOOK! I read this before I read Life as We Knew it but I read that shortly after. THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD! I couldn't put it down! Page after page I felt the drama, suspense, and fear! I actually cried at the end. Oh my god its such a good book! Some people can relate to them because they are just your average kids. A very well written book to sum it up. I LOVE it! This is my favorite series and I really want to buy the 3rd book! If you LOVE sci-fi, drama, adventure, suspense and tragedy, you will just fall in love with this book. I wasn't too crazy about sci-fi but this is my favorite book by far!!!

Elias Martinez

The Amazing And The Enthralling
This book had my eyes stuck to it for about 2 days straight. I teared up, I got all tensed up, I thoroughly enjoyed this book,cover to cover.

Haydee Karime Ruiz

"the dead & the gone" an Astonishing Book
Life for Alex Morales has changed forever, an asteroid has collapsed with the moon and knocking it closer to earth. At the same time it has altered the Earths climate. From Tsunami's to hurricanes and Quake's.

Every, time I turned the page I urged to know what was going to happen next. As I sat in my living room I actually cried from time to time, the tears just couldn't stop.

I thought that the characterization of the characters was very essential to the story because they where the whole story. The characters created the story. I could really feel what they felt, well sort of.

That's how good this book was and is.

OK, I have never really liked to read much, but when I picked up this book I said" wow nice cover. Let's just say that it got me interested in reading ALL OVER AGAIN.

Does the book have a sequel or what? Now that would be cool

THIS BOOK WAS FACINATING

Savannah

The dead and the gone
The best book I've ever read! Now even grittier, than before. Very hopeful, and brutal. You will want to read this in one sitting. You will cry, and bite your nails. I could have gone with the first person though. It will make you thankful, but wonder if this could actually happen to you. The way Pfeffer writes makes you able to put your self into any character's shoes. Loved every minute of it.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Susan Beth Pfeffer Author Biography

Susan Beth Pfeffer was born in New York City. She grew up in the city and its nearby suburbs and spent summers in the Catskill Mountains. When she was six her father wrote and published a book on constitutional law, and Pfeffer decided that she, too, wanted to be a writer.  That year she wrote her first story, about the love between an Oreo cookie and a pair of scissors.  However, it wasn't until 1970 that her first book, Just Morgan, was published. She wrote it during her last semester at New York University; since then, she has been a full-time writer for young people.

She has won numerous awards and citations for her work, which range from picture books to middle-grade and young-adult novels, and include both contemporary and historical fiction. She is ...

Full Biography
Link to Susan Beth Pfeffer's Website

Name Pronunciation
Susan Beth Pfeffer: Feffer (pfeffer means pepper in German)

Other books by Susan Beth Pfeffer at BookBrowse
  • Life As We Knew It jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more speculative (sci-fi, fantasy, alt. history)...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.