Sarah Tomp Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Sarah Tomp
Photo: Roxyanne Young

Sarah Tomp

An interview with Sarah Tomp

In a letter to readers introducing her novel, The Easy Part of Impossible, Sarah Tomp shares a difficult time in her life.

Dear Reader,

When I was in high school, I had a confusing relationship with a teacher. He'd helped me learn something that was hard for me and then made me feel special for being a good listener. He was funny, encouraging, and popular with students and staff. But he had serious problems too. As an adult looking back, I can call our interactions clearly inappropriate, but even now I struggle to define the experience with a recognizable label.

This relationship changed me, mostly because I didn't tell anyone about the rides we took around town, the late night drunken phone calls, the secrets he shared, and the way he cried and raged. I protected him because I felt guilty for letting him think he could depend on me. I couldn't fix him even though I tried. I was ashamed when I unintentionally let his friend and fellow teacher know he'd crossed a line—but I was relieved, too, because that slip finally got me out of a situation I had no idea how to escape.

The Easy Part of Impossible is not that story, but there's a seed of that relationship here, mixed with my realization as a parent that coaches wield far more influence over their athletes than I'd ever expected. Here, my character Ria's school-related insecurities have left her vulnerable to her coach's abusive control. For a long time, he was her hero—the only person who told her she was extraordinary. So when he started to hurt her, she blamed herself. The unfortunate truth, however, is whether you're doing something "right" or "wrong," you can still be a victim.

My hope is that readers may recognize that we all can be more than one thing. We can be good teachers, coaches, or even parents, but be flawed human beings. We can be someone with learning obstacles but still able to know when something isn't quite right. By reading Ria's story, I hope to empower readers to trust their instincts. If someone—especially an adult—does something that feels wrong, please find someone to talk to. Thanks for reading.

Sarah

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sarah Tomp at BookBrowse
The Easy Part of Impossible jacket My Best Everything jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sarah Tomp but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Genesis
    Genesis
    by Guido Tonelli
    Popular science books represent an important niche in non-fiction. They build a bridge between ...
  • Book Jacket: Buses Are a Comin'
    Buses Are a Comin'
    by Charles Person, Richard Rooker
    Charles Person was just 18 years old in 1961 when he became the youngest of the first wave of '...
  • Book Jacket: Firekeeper's Daughter
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Angeline Boulley's young adult novel Firekeeper's Daughter follows 18-year-old Daunis — ...
  • Book Jacket: Winter in Sokcho
    Winter in Sokcho
    by Elisa Dusapin
    Our unnamed narrator is a young French-Korean woman who works at a guest house in Sokcho, a popular ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Of Women and Salt
by Gabriela Garcia
A kaleidoscopic portrait of generations of women from a 19th-century Cuban cigar factory to the present day.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

  • Book Jacket

    A Theater for Dreamers
    by Polly Samson

    A spellbinding tour-de-force about the beauty between naïveté and cruelty, artist and muse.

Who Said...

Talent hits a target no one else can hit; Genius hits a target no one else can see.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S I T closet

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.