Mark Seal Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Mark Seal
Photo: Guillaume Bonn

Mark Seal

An interview with Mark Seal

Mark Seal gives his thoughts on the con-artist Christian Karl Gerhartstreiter (aka Clark Rockefeller) and discusses his book The Man in the Rockefeller Suit.

What drew you to Christian Karl Gerhartsreiter's story? After writing this book, what image of the man did you walk away with? Do you believe his plea of insanity? Do you think he believes it?
I first heard about Clark Rockefeller from a friend who had gone on a lunch date with him in New York. "Mark, did you hear about Clark Rockefeller!?" she screamed over the phone. I hadn't, but as soon as I began following his trail, I knew I was onto a whale of a story. After writing the book, I walked away with the feeling that the man will do whatever it takes to move ahead in life. As for the insanity defense, I agree with the jury in his kidnapping trial, which seemed to reject his plea of insanity by finding him guilty on most counts.

Your research for the book involved conducting nearly 200 interviews, in addition to scouring court transcripts and official documents. What did you expect to learn when you undertook this project? Were you surprised by any of your discoveries?
I try not to have preconceptions when following a story. In the case of Clark Rockefeller, I was constantly surprised and astounded. Every person I met had some new twist on the guy, and every time I thought the story was done, some new development, person, or lead would send me scurrying back to the beat.

What were some of the recurring sentiments you heard expressed about Gerhartsreiter in the interviews you conducted? What did they tell you about your subject?
That he was smart, engaging, affable, and absolutely the best liar they had ever met (although when they knew him they didn't realize he was lying).

Many were fooled by Gerhartsreiter and the complex, varied identities he invented. How do you think he achieved this? Do you think he ever wanted to be caught?
I think he's incredibly smart and well-read (he spent his time in libraries across the country, since he rarely worked) and felt he would never be caught. And he would most likely still be living a leisurely life as the bon vivant Clark Rockefeller if he hadn't kidnapped his daughter off the street in Boston.

Throughout the course of writing this book, how did you find your impression of Gerhartsreiter shifting? Did you at any point in time empathize with him?
I was amazed at his audacity and admired his choice of friends - all of whom I had a wonderful time meeting. I can't say I felt empathy for him - except maybe when I met the folks of his hometown of Bergen, Germany. I could understand his need to escape that small town for the wonderland of America and the opportunites our good but gullible country threw at his feet.

If you could interview Gerhartsreiter, what questions would you most like to ask him?
When did you first get the idea to live a life of lies?

How did you feel when people so readily believed the increasingly outlandish lies you told them?

What was your relationship with your San Marino, California, landlady Didi Sohus? Give us some anecdotes of your time together.

What do you think (or know) really happened to John and Linda Sohus, the couple who went missing when you lived with them in San Marino? (Rockefeller is charged with the murder of John Sohus.)

Why do you think Linda Sohus, or the body of Linda Sohus, has never been found?

What were your thoughts and motivations while romancing, marrying and duping your wife of twelve years, who believed you were a Rockefeller?

Where did you get your supposedly billion–dollar collection of modern art?

The list could go on and on...

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.