Announcing Our Best Books of 2021

D M. Cornish Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

D M. Cornish

D M. Cornish

An interview with D M. Cornish

In a BookBrowse exclusive interview, D.M. Cornish talks about his first book, Monster Blood Tattoo, and provides a sneak peak of the sequel.

What made you decide to write this book?
Strange as it may sound, my publisher asked me to write the first few thousand words that became MBT: Foundling after seeing one of my notebooks fall out onto the floor from my bag. This notebook - one of 23 at the time (I'm currently in 28) - is full of ideas for the Half-Continent, it got her interest and all things went from there. How is it I even had a publisher, you might ask? Well because I'm an illustrator by training and trade, and was working on a picture book with them. Before this though, in the early years of invention, I harbored a secret, barely-expressed hope I might write a book or more some day of one or more of the inhabitants of the Half-Continent. It's been profound and wonderful to have that wish realized. There is a God, it seems.

I really enjoyed reading about all of the monster fighters, but how did you think up the Lahzar's?
Hmmm. They are a coagulation, a final percolation, a boiling down to essentials of an older concept I had, set in our own world, in modern times, of a dark counter-culture of people with strange abilities (for example: growing spines, spitting acid, teleporting, hanging of walls and so much more) a grim and gritty super-hero type thing that I eventually canned as a bit silly (I still have some notes remaining but most is binned). From its wreck I kept the essential idea of grim and gritty 'super-hero' types, but with down sides, with flaws, strong but weak too, a little more real-seeming - hence such ideas as their need to drink their treacle twice a day for the rest of their lives, the risk of spasming if they do not and more yet to be revealed. I kept the most plausible-seeming, things actually occurring in nature: fulgars = electric eels, wits = theories of how sharks use their lateral-line organs to find and stun fish. My thinking went something like, "what if you took organs from these creatures and put them in people?" I hope this does not spoil the idea.

What adjectives would you use to describe Monster Blood Tattoo?
Grim and gritty perhaps. This is always a hard kind of question to answer - I have never been able to sum MBT up into any simple formula. Strangely real-seeming and plausible (my hope, perhaps, rather than actually achieved).

Were the battles of the Gates and the Mole based on real battles?
Not on anything from this current world's history directly, but rather from the grand impression left from my reading of military history, the feeling of what is possible in a real battle, in real history, and attempting to convey some of that plausibility in my own invented conflicts. My ideas for the Half-Continent in general never blossom so quickly as when I am reading a good history book. I even have a bibliography, in case it is ever needed.

Who is your favorite monster?
That's like asking a parent 'Who is your favorite child?' - well not quite, but approaching this. Having said that, you know my answer is going to be 'I have no favorites!' - yet having Europe whip the Nimbleschrewds was fun (so I mustn't like them much) and I actually worked with misty eyes when I wrote of the poor Misbegotten Schrewd (so I conclude I must like him). Freckle is fun, and would enjoy showing more of him. Then there's the glimpsed bogles, the swamp-nicker, the bogle on the road, the sparrow-headed nuglung, the reverman. How can I choose!? Then there are the monsters we have yet to meet, old friends from the earliest ideas of the Half-Continent, whom I look forward very much to put into a story.

Have you started working on your next book? Can you give us a sneak peak?
I most certainly have and I hope this picture of one of the monsters that appears in book 2 (called MBT: Lamplighter) is sufficient preview for now.




Is there anything else you'd like to tell readers?
Just thank them for reading, that I hope they enjoy it if they do, that MBT might become an old friend and, as someone of the Half-Continent might say, 'Beluae Nunquam Superarum' - "May the Monsters never get You!"

Copyright BookBrowse.com 2006

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by D M. Cornish at BookBrowse
Factotum jacket Lamplighter jacket Foundling jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for D M. Cornish but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Frank Beddor

    Frank Beddor

    Frank Beddor had already had a couple of intense careers, a professional skier (two-time freestyle world champion) and filmmaker (producer of the 1998 hit There’s Something About Mary) before deciding to become an ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Foundling

    Try:
    The Looking Glass Wars
    by Frank Beddor

  • Laurie Forest

    Laurie Forest

    Laurie Forest lives deep in the backwoods of Vermont where she sits in front of a wood stove drinking strong tea and dreaming up tales full of dryads, dragons, and wands. The Black Witch is her first novel. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Foundling

    Try:
    The Black Witch
    by Laurie Forest

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Office of Historical Corrections
    by Danielle Evans
    In The Office of Historical Corrections, the second story collection from Danielle Evans, readers ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book of Mother
    The Book of Mother
    by Violaine Huisman
    Fictionalizing the life of author Violaine Huisman's own mother, this debut novel is split into ...
  • Book Jacket
    People from My Neighborhood
    by Hiromi Kawakami
    People from My Neighborhood is exactly what it sounds like — an unnamed narrator recounts a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Win Me Something
    by Kyle Lucia Wu
    Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something opens with a young woman named Willa explaining that she did not ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    True Crime Story
    by Joseph Knox

    The #1 international bestselling novel. What happens to all the girls who go missing?

Who Said...

A library is a temple unabridged with priceless treasure...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.