Tatiana de Rosnay Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Tatiana de Rosnay

Tatiana de Rosnay

An interview with Tatiana de Rosnay

A Q&A with Tatiana de Rosnay

What do you enjoy doing in you spare time that inspires you while you're working?

I've been a bookworm since I could read. And I also spend a lot of time surfing the internet. I write a blog. I also enjoy traveling, art, music and movies.

Where have you lived in your life?

From Paris, I moved to Boston when I was 8, my father taught at MIT. We spent 3 years there, and then moved back to Paris. I went to college in England when I was 19 (University of East Anglia), majored in English Literature. I have lived in Paris since 1984.

Who are your favorite authors?

I admire Daphne du Maurier, Virginia Woolf, Henry James, Irène Nemirovsky, Emile Zola, Guy de Maupassant, Oscar Wilde, Charles Baudelaire. And Paul Auster, Joanna Trollope, Anita Shreeve, Penelope Lively, A.S Byatt, JM Coetzee, Maggie O'Farrell, Tracy Chevalier.

Tell us anything about you as a working writer that you think might be interesting or unusual.

Being half French, half English makes me "unusual," I guess, and the fact that I grew up learning two languages, that I lived both in France, England and America, as well. I never know which language I dream in. But I always knew I wanted to write Sarah's Key in English.

What are some examples of books that you compare or identify with Sarah's Key?

The Pursuit of Happiness, by Douglas Kennedy
Charlotte Gray, by Sebastian Faulks
Reservation Road, by John Burnham Schwartz
My Dream of You, by Nuala O'Faolain
Sophie's Choice, by William Styron
Suite Française, by Irène Némirovsky
After You'd Gone, by Maggie O'Farrell
Resistance, by Anita Shreeve

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.