Advance reader reviews of The Earth Hums in B Flat

The Earth Hums in B Flat

by Mari Strachan

The Earth Hums in B Flat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jun 2009
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 18 member reviews
for The Earth Hums in B Flat
Order Reviews by:
  • Chris H. (Wauwatosa, WI)


    The Earth Hums in B Flat
    This is a book written with a lot of freshness. Definitely not the same old, same old. It is written from the perspective of 12-year-old Gwenni. She hears about things in her small village in Wales she wants to understand and no matter how many times she is told to mind her own business or who tells her, she has a irrepressible spirit that doesn't give up. There is a disappearance of a man in the village which is a mystery she is determined to get to the bottom of. I was enchanted by Gwenni and the stories of her small village and the people who live there.
  • Marcia F. (Batavia, IL)


    The Earth Hums in B Flat
    This was a truly enjoyable book! I loved it and hope that Ms Strachan will write a sequel. I had the women from my Welsh club explain "The Toby Jugs" and other Welsh words to me (possibly there should be a glossary for this in the book) to clarify my reading. Gwenni is a typical 13 year old beginning to outgrow her childhood imagination and enter into adolescence. I loved her loyalty and protectiveness of her friends and family as she discovered their secrets as well as the special relationship she has with Tada. Ms Strachan made me feel I was in Wales throughout the entire book with her wonderful descriptions of the country. A truly delightful read.
  • Vicki R. (Casa Grande, AZ)


    A wonderful coming-of-age story set in Wales
    I was captivated by this magical story of Gwenni Morgan, a 12-year-old Welsh girl who uncovers painful family secrets as she learns the truth about the death of a neighbor. It's painful to witness the loss of Gwenni's innocence, but you can't help but fall in love with her loving and unique spirit.
  • Beverly B. (Tallahassee, FL)


    A Magical, Soaring Adventure
    This first novel by a sixty-two-year-old former librarian is a stunning debut. A family story told from the point of view of "odd" 12-year-old Gwenni, will keep you on the edge of your seat. While investigating a murder, Gwenni uncovers deep, dark secrets in her own family and must then decide what to do with the information and whether she should dig deeper. Strachan makes the tiny Welsh village where the story is set come alive. Hopefully this will not be the last we hear from her. Bravo!!
  • Linda G. Manager Lafayette Book Store CA


    A Stellar Debut...
    "The Earth Hums in B Flat" is a magical, literary and thoroughly enchanting debut. The location is a small village in Wales in the 1950's, and 12 year old Gwennie narrates. Her voice is perfect, she's charmingly naive and we learn about life along with her as she maneuvers through the complex and quirky characters of the story. Gwennie's tale has somewhat of a 'Harriet the Spy' feel to it as she attempts to take on a local missing persons case. The village secrets that slowly begin to unfold make for a very compelling story. The last 50 pages nearly took my breath away they were so beautiful. This book will also make a terrific young adult crossover, perfect for mother-daughter book clubs. I loved it!!
  • Jean O. (DePere, WI)


    The Earth Hums in B Flat
    The stage between childhood and adolescence is uncomfortable and often painful. The author does a beautiful job describing this with Gwenni's voice. Gwenni is full of a child's eagerness and innocence. Bright, imaginative and inquisitive, she flies right into one's heart and into the beginning of adult understanding. I enjoyed the book and fell in love with Gwenni.
  • Nancy L. (Denver, NC)


    Amazing book
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Not just the premise of it, but the writing. There's quite a lot of drama and action, but it's written in a very serene manner.

    I love the main character, Gwenni and her brave father (Tada). I've known of people like her mother, but it was so unfair for someone like Gwenni to have a mother like she had.
    The book has a lot of Welsh words and language, but it wouldn't be as good without it. All the characters are believable and entertaining.

    Can't wait for Mari Strachan's next book. She's now one of my favorite authors.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.