Advance reader reviews of The Earth Hums in B Flat

The Earth Hums in B Flat

by Mari Strachan

The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan X
The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jun 2009
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 18 member reviews
for The Earth Hums in B Flat
Order Reviews by:
  • Chris H. (Wauwatosa, WI)


    The Earth Hums in B Flat
    This is a book written with a lot of freshness. Definitely not the same old, same old. It is written from the perspective of 12-year-old Gwenni. She hears about things in her small village in Wales she wants to understand and no matter how many times she is told to mind her own business or who tells her, she has a irrepressible spirit that doesn't give up. There is a disappearance of a man in the village which is a mystery she is determined to get to the bottom of. I was enchanted by Gwenni and the stories of her small village and the people who live there.
  • Marcia F. (Batavia, IL)


    The Earth Hums in B Flat
    This was a truly enjoyable book! I loved it and hope that Ms Strachan will write a sequel. I had the women from my Welsh club explain "The Toby Jugs" and other Welsh words to me (possibly there should be a glossary for this in the book) to clarify my reading. Gwenni is a typical 13 year old beginning to outgrow her childhood imagination and enter into adolescence. I loved her loyalty and protectiveness of her friends and family as she discovered their secrets as well as the special relationship she has with Tada. Ms Strachan made me feel I was in Wales throughout the entire book with her wonderful descriptions of the country. A truly delightful read.
  • Vicki R. (Casa Grande, AZ)


    A wonderful coming-of-age story set in Wales
    I was captivated by this magical story of Gwenni Morgan, a 12-year-old Welsh girl who uncovers painful family secrets as she learns the truth about the death of a neighbor. It's painful to witness the loss of Gwenni's innocence, but you can't help but fall in love with her loving and unique spirit.
  • Beverly B. (Tallahassee, FL)


    A Magical, Soaring Adventure
    This first novel by a sixty-two-year-old former librarian is a stunning debut. A family story told from the point of view of "odd" 12-year-old Gwenni, will keep you on the edge of your seat. While investigating a murder, Gwenni uncovers deep, dark secrets in her own family and must then decide what to do with the information and whether she should dig deeper. Strachan makes the tiny Welsh village where the story is set come alive. Hopefully this will not be the last we hear from her. Bravo!!
  • Linda G. Manager Lafayette Book Store CA


    A Stellar Debut...
    "The Earth Hums in B Flat" is a magical, literary and thoroughly enchanting debut. The location is a small village in Wales in the 1950's, and 12 year old Gwennie narrates. Her voice is perfect, she's charmingly naive and we learn about life along with her as she maneuvers through the complex and quirky characters of the story. Gwennie's tale has somewhat of a 'Harriet the Spy' feel to it as she attempts to take on a local missing persons case. The village secrets that slowly begin to unfold make for a very compelling story. The last 50 pages nearly took my breath away they were so beautiful. This book will also make a terrific young adult crossover, perfect for mother-daughter book clubs. I loved it!!
  • Jean O. (DePere, WI)


    The Earth Hums in B Flat
    The stage between childhood and adolescence is uncomfortable and often painful. The author does a beautiful job describing this with Gwenni's voice. Gwenni is full of a child's eagerness and innocence. Bright, imaginative and inquisitive, she flies right into one's heart and into the beginning of adult understanding. I enjoyed the book and fell in love with Gwenni.
  • Nancy L. (Denver, NC)


    Amazing book
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Not just the premise of it, but the writing. There's quite a lot of drama and action, but it's written in a very serene manner.

    I love the main character, Gwenni and her brave father (Tada). I've known of people like her mother, but it was so unfair for someone like Gwenni to have a mother like she had.
    The book has a lot of Welsh words and language, but it wouldn't be as good without it. All the characters are believable and entertaining.

    Can't wait for Mari Strachan's next book. She's now one of my favorite authors.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.