Advance reader reviews of Tethered

Tethered

A Novel

by Amy Mackinnon

Tethered by Amy Mackinnon X
Tethered by Amy Mackinnon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Aug 2008
    272 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 19 member reviews
for Tethered
Order Reviews by:
  • Jeanne (Macomb MI)


    Tethered
    This book grabbed me from the very beginning. All of the characters were real, filled with their own unique hopes and flaws. Every part of Clara's life is written thoroughly and believably. It is the characters that stand out in this book, more than the mystery itself, right through to the satisfying ending.
  • Marissa (Boca Raton FL)


    Not To Be Missed
    Amy MacKinnon has written a mesmerizing story of pain, terror and, in the end, hope.

    The author's main characters, Clara, Trecie, Linus, Alma and Mike all have dark souls. From there MacKinnon weaves a story that is terrifying, heartbreaking and rewarding.

    As a mortician, Clara is only comfortable working with the dead. Her childhood was with a brutal Grandmother and no mother. Clara functions better with the dead than the living. For every wake she chooses flowers that have a particular meaning she chooses for the deceased. Clara is an avid gardener which is a glimpse of her attachment to anything living.

    The story centers itself on a little girl named Trecie whom Clara met at the funeral home. Trecie goes missing and a tale of evil is woven. The lives of all these characters are exposed and the healing begins.

    In the end we have hope for Clara and all the rest of these wonderful characters.

    A wonderful book.
  • Gail (Montgomery TX)


    Tethered
    I really enjoyed this book by Amy Mackinnnon, it was exciting, thought provoking, sad, happy and a good page turner. It held my interest until the end.

    However, I did not like the ending, unless there will be a Tethered II.

    I look forward to Mackinnon's next book
  • Shirley (Norco LA)


    Hauntingly Beautiful Murder Mystery
    Tethered is a haunting, beautifully written murder mystery Clara, our undertaker narrator, never flinches in her descriptions of death and the agony of life lived unloved. She leads the reader straight down the razor sharp line between life and death. A great book club selection, with lots of opinions and viewpoints to discuss.
  • Margo (Rehoboth MA)


    Tethered
    Though somewhat morbid, this mystery holds the attention of the reader very well. I found the book engaging despite its subject matter (child abuse and child pornography).

    I would not suggest this as a title for the book club that I moderate as I am afraid that most of the women would find some aspects too gory and they would not welcome another book on this subject matter.

    I think Amy does a great job making her point that we never really know anyone and no one is ever above suspicion in cases of this type. She weaves a love story through lines of anguish though at some times it is difficult to figure out what is really taking place as opposed to what the main character, Clara, is imagining. Overall, though, a really good summer read.
  • Lynda (Clifton Heights PA)


    Love, Beauty, Salvation from a very unlikely setting.
    Ms. MacKinnon's narrator and main character, Clara, is most comfortable with the corpses that she lovingly prepares for burial. She has no friends, other than the undertaker with whom she works - and her flowers, which seem to blossom miraculously for Clara.

    Being immersed in Clara's thoughts is learning how an extremely depressed and lonely young woman thinks. Yet, a glimmer of hope lies beneath the Gothic setting and compelled this reader to devour this mystery.

    The characters are real and complete. The settings are vivid, though mostly seen through shadows and mist. The reader wants to help Clara solve this dark mystery and bloom as a fulfilled woman, like her garden.
  • Annie (Dallas TX)


    Tethered
    I looked forward to reading this book each night. MacKinnon fashioned characters you cared about, and a page-turning plot. I especially liked the asides about the flowers and what each represents. This would make a good discussion book, both because of the ambiguity surrounding Trecie and because the subjects of undertaking and trichotillomania are so exotic. This book reminded me of Origin by Diana Abu-Jaber. Both books are narrated by fragile protagonists haunted by their pasts; both are written with the same surreal atmosphere; and both also provide a romance interest in the form of a stalwart detective.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.