Advance reader reviews of Green Monster

Green Monster

A Sam Skarda Mystery

by Rick Shefchik

Green Monster by Rick Shefchik
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Sep 2008
    306 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 19 member reviews
for Green Monster
Order Reviews by:
  • Melanie (Templeton MA)


    Loved it....
    Being a die hard Red Sox fan certainly made this an enjoyable read for me. I loved reading about all the local references and some of the details from the World Series games that Boston won!!!

    Although I *am* a true Red Sox fan, I do believe that any lover of baseball would truly enjoy this book. It was well detailed and the story flowed nicely. I enjoyed the character development as well!!!

    A great book made even better by adding a little bit of Red Sox Nation!! :)
  • Mary (St Paul MN)


    Green Monster
    I enjoyed this book very much. I am a baseball fan, but I think even someone who doesn't follow baseball would enjoy the book.

    The mystery has interesting characters, several different locations, humor, and baseball facts and lore mixed in, all of which keep the story moving and hard to put down. This was a great read, especially during baseball season.
  • Jeff (Somerset NJ)


    Green Monster
    Despite being a Yankee fan who is still smarting from the Red Sox coming back from 3 games down to beat NY and then win the World Series in 2004, I gave "Green Monster" a try and really liked it. Thought the mystery was well plotted with a number of surprises and twists along the way. I found the sports theme to be interesting and will probably look from Shedchik's first novel dealing with the Masters as the backdrop. I'd recommend Green Monster to mystery fans. It's a fast read.
  • David (CRANSTON RI)


    No Fear of THIS Green Monster!
    I really enjoyed this book. The only downfall is keeping track of all the myriad characters that pop into the plot from Boston to L.A. to Venezuela! Sam Skarda is an accomplished private eye and does a commendable and engaging job of solving the mystery. There are several murders, a kidnapping, and a resurrected son. All of this adds to the excitement of the plot! Being from New England I could identify with many of the MLB players and recognized many familiar places along the way of a fine and suspenseful plot! I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a surprise ending to a well written story.
  • Gerald (Pompton Lakes NJ)


    Red Sox Nation Under Seige
    Although baseball and the Boston Red Sox are at the heart of this mystery novel, even Yankee fans will enjoy it. You don't even have to be a baseball fan to appreciate the multi-dimension characters and the well written, fast moving plot. This is a quick and very enjoyable read.
  • Mary (Boston MA)


    Spotlight on Red Sox Nation
    This is a great beach read - fast paced and a quick summer read! All baseball fans will love this mystery. The characters are multifaceted and there are good twists and turns not all predictable. I found it to be a very enjoyable page turner, sheer enjoyment not "great literature"! As a Red Sox fan, I loved the familiar players and local places and anyone from Boston especially would love to read it!
  • Stephen (Aston PA)


    For those huge Sox fans!!!
    I've never been a big fan of continuing series books so I go in with a bit of hesitation here. After reading this book, I would summarize it as a good mystery novel but maybe not for your average fan. This one will get its most enjoyment from diehard Red Sox fans. Though I like the Sox, I must admit that they are not my favorite team.

    The character development could have been better, however the twist and turns are enough to keep you turning the pages.

    All in all, not a bad book just don't expect to see it come Edgar award time.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.