Advance reader reviews of Findings

Findings

Faye Longchamp Mysteries, No. 4

by Mary Anna Evans

Findings
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2008
    232 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 19 member reviews
for Findings
Order Reviews by:
  • Barbara (Perris CA)


    I thoroughly enjoyed this book!
    Even though the book is part of a series and I had not read any of the previous books, this story stands on it's own. The author did an excellent job in relating the familiarity of the characters with each other, without making the reader feel they were on the outside of the story. It is a great mix of mystery and historic fiction - I will recommend it to my mystery and history loving friends!
  • Angelina (New York NY)


    Green with Envy
    I'm always amazed at how mystery writers plot their stories and how they can keep the reader entertained throughout. This book plays into that by keeping me turning the pages and wondering how everything fit together. The descriptions of Joyeuse Island makes me want to take a trip there. And Faye is a wonderfully intelligent character who you connect with from the beginning.
  • Fred (san diego CA)


    findings
    A very good page turner,so good that I'm ordering her other three books.
  • Linda (Three Oaks MI)


    Findings by Mary Anna Evans
    I am quite surprised by how I was absolutely smitten with this book and regret that
    Findings is my first reading in this series about the archaeologist Faye Longchamp.

    I would have loved to watch the characters develop over the first three books
    particularly the relationship between Faye, Joe and Ross. That being said, Findings is able to stand on its own merits if you haven’t read the previous books in the series. A few murders, valuable gemstones, a love triangle and insights into life in the Confederate South during the Civil War coupled with Evans intelligent writing made for an irresistible storyline. I sign up for First Impressions so I have an opportunity to discover new authors and am very pleased to add Mary Anna Evans to my list.
  • Loren (Appleton WI)


    Archeological mystery
    Findings is the fourth mystery featuring archeologist Faye Longchamp. I recommend reading the first three novels before reading the fourth as there is a lot of character development with each succeeding book.

    Each of these novels is not only a very well written character-driven mystery but also is filled with fascinating archaeological and historical information.

    I highly recommend Findings as well as the first three novels.
  • Randi (Bronx NY)


    Excellent Mystery
    I loved this book. I thought it was the best mystery I'd read in a long time. I wasn't able to figure out who the perpetrator was before the end of the story. And I really enjoyed the setting, and the background of the civil war.

    I haven't read any other books in the series, but plan on doing so right away.
  • Jeanne (Ludlow MA)


    Island setting provides great backdrop
    Findings is the fourth in a series featuring Faye Longchamp and Joe, her Native American Assistant/Friend. Faye, whose ancestors had been slaves, owns (with some difficulty) a family home on an island off the Florida Panhandle coast. All the characters both friend and foe are fully dimensional. Entangled in the story are letters written during the Civil War which set off a murderous treasure hunt. I enjoyed the story which ends on a very dramatic note, but most interesting was the island setting. I certainly will purchase the first three titles.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.