Advance reader reviews of How to Build a House

How to Build a House

by Dana Reinhardt

How to Build a House
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2008
    240 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 15 member reviews
for How to Build a House
Order Reviews by:
  • Lauren (DeRidder LA)


    how to build a house
    I found this book to be a really good book. It really touched me and made me feel like I was in her world. It was well written. It is also one of those books that you can read over and over again and never get tired of it. It would probably appeal to teen from the age 14 to 17. I really enjoyed the book.
  • Rebecca (Knoxville TN)


    how to build a house
    How To Build a House is a great book. Though I haven't gone through everything the main character, Harper, has I still found myself relating to her in so many aspects of of life. I'm 15 and I can definitely relate to this book. Just the way Harper regards everything around her and how she is hesitant to let people see who she really is makes me feel like I'm not alone, that there is always someone everyone can relate to. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a place to belong.
  • Selene - As Told by Her Daughter (West Chicago IL)


    The House that Harper Built
    Wonderfully real story. This book touches on issues that face teens every day - divorce, love, high school, sibling relationships and understanding that your parents are human too. Harper is an exceptional character who feels she is nothing special and is dealing with the very difficult divorce of her parents. In building a house, she finds a new outlook on her parents, sisters, real love and her life. I loved it.
  • Sophia (West Hartford CT)


    WOW!! I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!
    Hey my name's Sophia I'm 13 and I LOVED THIS BOOK!! I finished this book really quickly because once I got past the first chapter or so i couldn't put it down! I liked the character Harper because I thought she was very down to earth. I thought it was really suspenseful and also really funny a lot of times. I think this would make good discussion for a bookclub because people can discuss what was going on with Harper and her family life and all that stuff that this book focused on. the only thing I was disappointed with was that I didn't like how it ended but I won't say why because I don't want to be a spoiler!! :) all in all great book!!!
  • Sam, 15 years old (Great Falls VA)


    Great Young Adult Book
    How To Build A House is the newest novel by critically acclaimed author, Dana Reinhardt. The story follows our heroine, Harper, as she struggles with love, family, loyalty and most of all, her own life. This is the second book by Ms. Reinhardt that I have read recently and I must say, I really enjoyed this book. The concept of her stories and her distinctive writing style are very appealing and in my opinion, best shown in this novel. I would recommend this book for mature teens from 14 to 17 years old.
  • Amber Sizemore (Front Royal VA)


    How to Build a House
    When I first heard the name of this book, I didn't think I would like it. The more I read, however, the more I came to love it! It was the kind of book you just can't put down. I'm 15 years old and How to Build a House really inspired me to go out and make a difference in the world I live in. My eyes were opened to the fact that even when things aren't going as planned, there's always someone fighting a harder battle than mine. There's always someone in need of help and even teenagers can make a difference.
  • Patricia (aged 13) (Glens Falls NY)


    Kept me on the edge of my seat
    Harper's dad is getting a divorce from her stepmother , Jane. Just when Tarper thought that nothing could get worse , Tarper has lost her stepsister Tess because to divorce divides them.

    To escape this terrible nightmare Tarper signs up to a volunteer program to build a house for a family in Tennessee that lost their home in a tornado.

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat and always entertained me. I will recommend this book to all ages.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.