Advance reader reviews of The Fisher Boy

The Fisher Boy

by Stephen H. Anable

The Fisher Boy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2008
    236 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 16 member reviews
for The Fisher Boy
Order Reviews by:
  • Sue (Richardson TX)


    Good debut!
    For some reason, when I read the synopsis, I envisioned sort of a "cozy" mystery. It was definitely not that. The book is populated with many intriguing characters, but the town itself is one of the main players. It was a bit draggy at first - like floating lazily downstream in a slow-moving river, then suddenly, the current picks up, and you are swept along with it. This was an interesting read and turned into a very good mystery.
  • Marta (Miami FL)


    Pleasant Read
    The book was a pleasure to read. The transition from chapter to chapter flowed smoothly due to the interest level. The plot was wrapped up nicely at the end.
  • Wendy (Riverside CA)


    The Fisher Boy
    Author Stephen Anable has crafted a unique and intriguing mystery with a myriad of characters, each with their own foibles and quirks. The novel takes awhile to get off the ground as the author sets the stage for the events to come. Mark Winslow is the naïve and curious protagonist, who at times I found a little exasperating but still likable. Anable packs quite a few different plot threads throughout the novel that will keep the reader guessing right up until all is revealed at the end. Suspenseful with a teaspoon of romance, The Fisher Boy is an entertaining novel.
  • Susan (Twain Harte CA)


    Engaging, but not for every book group
    I liked the book and thought it was well-written, especially the descriptions of the characters and the setting. The plot was full of twists and kept me engaged right to the end. Because the setting and much of the plot concern the predominantly gay community of Provincetown, this isn't the right choice for all book groups. That aside, this book could lead to good discussions about cults and other groups.
  • Vicky (Roswell GA)


    An exploding second half...
    While I wasn't bored, I felt somewhat "ho-hum" and I was into half of this book and I still could not figure out where it was going...then, boom! Suddenly, there were new characters, new twists, a new focus. The plot flew into directions that I had no hint of in the earlier part of the story. Strange, interesting characters appeared and then I couldn't stop reading...I had to see where this story was leading. I will admit, for someone who reads 3 or 4 books a week, this mystery had me puzzled until the last few pages. This book is different but well worth the reader's time and my hat's off to any author who can keep me guessing until the end.
  • Mary Ellen (Boynton Beach FL)


    Provincetown Sets the Stage
    The Fisher Boy is a colorful book bringing together cultural clashes, mayhem, and a murder. The main character, Mark, is trying to launch a club act with a group of friends. The book gives a real feel for the summer community in Provincetown, and the push and pull of gay visitors, the resident community, the wealthy and their groupies. The murder focuses the story and sends Mark, who becomes the suspect, on a quest to deal with the dark forces in his life and a mystery from the past. Edgy and unsettling.
  • Barbara (Perris CA)


    If you liked
    I was glad to find the author did not fall in to the traps of stereotype that were so evident in the first half of the book. No one group of people was made out to be purely evil or righteous. I did find it interesting that the main character was self-reflective in reviewing his own attitudes and motives. The gay theme may scare some readers off, and if you hated "Running with Scissors, " be assured that this is not that. I found some of the characters a little over the top, but for the most parts they were well developed, sincere and consistent. I don't know that I would recommend the book to my Book Club, unless it is for that summer slot of July and August, when everyone just wants a "beach read," but it should make a decent Lifetime movie.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.