Advance reader reviews of Wayward Saints

Wayward Saints

by Suzzy Roche

Wayward Saints
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2012
    272 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 member reviews
for Wayward Saints
Order Reviews by:
  • Mary P. (Bellingham, WA)


    Wayward Saints
    I enjoyed Wayward Saints by Suzzy Roche, identifying with the daughter, Mary, who is trying to find her authentic voice, and her mother who is seeking to understand her daughter. Love is the thread that stitches the two together, in spite of their differences. A chain stitch, perhaps, that works for Mary and Jean, and the other relationships in the story. There is an obvious religious element in the story, not pontificating, but part of the personalities.
    Perhaps someone with a firmer grounding than I would understand Jean, especially. That said Roche writes so that the reader can still feel how strongly Jean feels, and know that love is not judgmental.
  • Kristine L. (The Woodlands, TX)


    Wayward Saints
    I started the book earlier this week only to be interrupted by Thanksgiving preparations. Early this morning, I picked up the book expecting to read a few chapters...Here - hours later, I have completed the book and have enjoyed every minute. At one moment, the book reminds me of the novel "Olive Kitteradge" and at another moment it reminds me of my own inner ramblings. Certainly, an enjoyable, pleasant book about Life, Choices, Forgiveness, And Growing Up....
  • Gayle M. (Billerica, MA)


    A very pleasant surprise
    In writing a book about a former singer, it would have been easy to lean on standard cliches. Instead, Suzzy Roche delivers a book filled with interesting, three dimensional characters that you care about. The story is funny, sad, quirky and honest. I would highly recommend this book and am looking forward to Suzzy Roche’s next book.
  • Jane N. (Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey)


    Wayward Saints
    When you get past the musical references and all of the anger associated with the genre that the author is referring to in the book, this is a really great read. At it's heart it is a love story about the most difficult relationship any woman will have in her life; that is the relationship with her mother. The story of Jean Saint, the mother, and Mary Saint, the daughter is a warm and well told and should touch you deeply. Mary is the epitome of a rebellious daughter who makes the big time in spite of herself. Her fame does nothing to solve her problems with the people in her life and her life in general. In fact, her fame accentuates the problems and the methods that Mary chooses to solve them only add to her destructive modus operandi. While Mary struggles with her own demons, her mother Jean, struggles with her own. Mother and daughter are very much alike. Mary is flamboyant while Jean is passive aggressive in dealing with the life that that share. Suzy does an excellent job of weaving the two stories together. The supporting characters that Roche has created to flesh the story out are also amazing and the sub plot that she created is worth a book of its own. Thaddeus is so real and adds so much to the story that I hope he appears in Roche’s future works. This book will be enjoyed for a long time. I know that I will recommend it to my friends and my book club.
  • Vicki O. (Boston, MA)


    A Fun Read
    This book took me totally by surprise. I finished it in two days and was a little sorry to see it end. What I really liked about the book was its voice. It flowed naturally with a well balanced mix of description and dialogue. The story has a personality that is sometimes touching, sometimes humorous and almost always believable.
  • Sharon W. (Two Rivers, WI)


    Wayward Saints
    WOW! When I first started the book, I really didn't think I was going to like it. But once I got into it, I couldn't put it down till I was finished with it. Even though this was fiction, it definitely could have been real. To see what happens within a rock band, the ups and downs the good and bad. I loved it.
  • Lisa G. (Riverwoods, IL)


    Wayward Saints by Suzzy Roche
    From the first page to the last I was enthralled with this quirky fun read. There was some symbolism that was immediately obvious, aka the book's title, the main character's first and last name, Mary Saint, and some not as obvious, as the location Swallow, NY and how "swallow" is translated in the Bible. A rock group called Sliced Ham and a drummer named Garbagio (well OK, it isn't his real name) just add to the cleverness of the book. The author was part of a singing group with her sisters in the 1970's and draws on her expertise of the music business to make the story even more enjoyable. Comical and creative, I liked the book a lot.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.