Advance reader reviews of Falling Together

Falling Together

A Novel

by Marisa De Los Santos

Falling Together
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2011
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 member reviews
for Falling Together
Order Reviews by:
  • Annie H. (Cincinnati, Ohio)


    Falling Together vs Falling Apart
    I was about a third of the way through this book when I got the phone call that my best friend was in the hospital and the doctors were preparing for a brain death exam. She was a best friend since high school, 41 years. I say this not for sympathy though I'm sure you do, but because I finished the book with a much altered perspective and an earthquaked landscape to my life.

    But grief and loss are similar despite different age groups, different types of loving and different cultures. Love remains and the loss of it requires navigating through a murky, uncharted terrain. Marisa De Los Santos has paid attention to the details involved in this journey and has presented characters and situations beautifully and thoughtfully described. These characters are people you know and their lessons learned are those which we learn over and over again in our lives.
    I laughed, I cried, I will read this book again and I will share it.
  • Marcia S. (Hendersonville, NC)


    Gone but here
    Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos is a poignant tale of three friends from college days that have moved on and connect years later. A thoughtful look at relationships and how we all likely have people in our lives that may be "gone but here" -- a piece that helps us realize the tapestry loved ones weave in our lives. Would make a great book club focus on the strengths and twists and turns of friendships.
  • Sheila S. (Supply, NC)


    Falling Together
    What a great read! In the book Pen comments on Will's book, "It's gorgeous and moving and funny. I love it." That is how I feel about Marisa de los Santos' Falling Together. The characters are wonderful, even the hapless Jason has some good moments. The dialogue between Pen and Will is brilliant - clever and so in tune with each other. I did feel that the part of the book taking place in the Philippines wasn't as strong and got a little close to becoming a travelogue, but I still couldn't put it down. I loved the author;s first two books also so this makes it three for three.
  • Tillie H. (Baltimore, MD)


    Friendships and love
    Excellent book. I would highly recommend this book to someone who is seeking a book about friendship. Particularly someone who is looking to reconnect with old friends. It also demonstrates that you and someone you don't particularly like can achieve a bond and you can see the good in everyone.

    I would highly recommend this book to a book club as there are many things that would make for a lively discussion.
  • Jill S. (Eagle, ID)


    Falling Together
    Although this book starts off slow, don't give up! This is a book with engaging, well-developed characters, and is a great story. Essentially, three college friends find themselves re-uniting for a 10 year college reunion, but they find out that one is missing. As we go on the journey to find their missing friend, De Los Santos has us exploring the meaning of friendship, family, and love with a twist of mystery. This will be a great bookclub read.
  • Susan B. (Rutledge, MO)


    why do i like it so?
    I haven't been able to articulate exactly why I loved this book... Is it something in me that longs for the intense kind of friendship it describes? Is it the characters, so well-drawn that I feel I know them, and love them even when they do or say what seem to me to be stupid, unkind, or senseless things? Or the interesting mix of mystery, friendship tale, and love story? I'm still uncertain, but if you're intrigued by the idea of a character-based book about love, loss, friendship, and how relationships change with time, give Falling Together a try. I think you'll be glad you did.
  • Diane S. (Batavia, IL)


    Falling Together by Marisa De Los Santos
    hat a wonderful feel good book. Cat, Pen and Will meet in college and form an intense friendship. Thinking that the level of their friendship can neither be maintained nor let any one else in they decide to go their separate ways. Will and Pen come together 8 years later when Cat's husband tells them Cat is missing. This book explores the friendships one forms, the meaning of family and how people are only gone when they are forgotten.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.