Advance reader reviews of Falling Together

Falling Together

A Novel

by Marisa De Los Santos

Falling Together by Marisa De Los Santos
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2011
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 member reviews
for Falling Together
Order Reviews by:
  • Annie H. (Cincinnati, Ohio)


    Falling Together vs Falling Apart
    I was about a third of the way through this book when I got the phone call that my best friend was in the hospital and the doctors were preparing for a brain death exam. She was a best friend since high school, 41 years. I say this not for sympathy though I'm sure you do, but because I finished the book with a much altered perspective and an earthquaked landscape to my life.

    But grief and loss are similar despite different age groups, different types of loving and different cultures. Love remains and the loss of it requires navigating through a murky, uncharted terrain. Marisa De Los Santos has paid attention to the details involved in this journey and has presented characters and situations beautifully and thoughtfully described. These characters are people you know and their lessons learned are those which we learn over and over again in our lives.
    I laughed, I cried, I will read this book again and I will share it.
  • Marcia S. (Hendersonville, NC)


    Gone but here
    Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos is a poignant tale of three friends from college days that have moved on and connect years later. A thoughtful look at relationships and how we all likely have people in our lives that may be "gone but here" -- a piece that helps us realize the tapestry loved ones weave in our lives. Would make a great book club focus on the strengths and twists and turns of friendships.
  • Sheila S. (Supply, NC)


    Falling Together
    What a great read! In the book Pen comments on Will's book, "It's gorgeous and moving and funny. I love it." That is how I feel about Marisa de los Santos' Falling Together. The characters are wonderful, even the hapless Jason has some good moments. The dialogue between Pen and Will is brilliant - clever and so in tune with each other. I did feel that the part of the book taking place in the Philippines wasn't as strong and got a little close to becoming a travelogue, but I still couldn't put it down. I loved the author;s first two books also so this makes it three for three.
  • Tillie H. (Baltimore, MD)


    Friendships and love
    Excellent book. I would highly recommend this book to someone who is seeking a book about friendship. Particularly someone who is looking to reconnect with old friends. It also demonstrates that you and someone you don't particularly like can achieve a bond and you can see the good in everyone.

    I would highly recommend this book to a book club as there are many things that would make for a lively discussion.
  • Jill S. (Eagle, ID)


    Falling Together
    Although this book starts off slow, don't give up! This is a book with engaging, well-developed characters, and is a great story. Essentially, three college friends find themselves re-uniting for a 10 year college reunion, but they find out that one is missing. As we go on the journey to find their missing friend, De Los Santos has us exploring the meaning of friendship, family, and love with a twist of mystery. This will be a great bookclub read.
  • Susan B. (Rutledge, MO)


    why do i like it so?
    I haven't been able to articulate exactly why I loved this book... Is it something in me that longs for the intense kind of friendship it describes? Is it the characters, so well-drawn that I feel I know them, and love them even when they do or say what seem to me to be stupid, unkind, or senseless things? Or the interesting mix of mystery, friendship tale, and love story? I'm still uncertain, but if you're intrigued by the idea of a character-based book about love, loss, friendship, and how relationships change with time, give Falling Together a try. I think you'll be glad you did.
  • Diane S. (Batavia, IL)


    Falling Together by Marisa De Los Santos
    hat a wonderful feel good book. Cat, Pen and Will meet in college and form an intense friendship. Thinking that the level of their friendship can neither be maintained nor let any one else in they decide to go their separate ways. Will and Pen come together 8 years later when Cat's husband tells them Cat is missing. This book explores the friendships one forms, the meaning of family and how people are only gone when they are forgotten.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.