Advance reader reviews of The Kitchen Daughter

The Kitchen Daughter

A Novel

by Jael McHenry

The Kitchen Daughter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2011
    288 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 7
There are currently 46 member reviews
for The Kitchen Daughter
Order Reviews by:
  • Alan K. (Westport, MA)


    The Ktichen Daughter-Good read!
    This is a delightful read with an inventive and enlightening approach to the confusing and challenging world of Aspergers. It is especially fun for folks who enjoy cooking. Highly recommend.
  • Nina R. (Hot Springs, AR)


    The Kitchen Daughter
    The more I read, the more I liked this book. Ginny was a delight and the recipes were very different and added to my enjoyment. I expect this to be a big hit with my book club.
  • Erin J. (Lake Oswego, OR, OR)


    Immersed in the life of a foodie with Asperger's Syndrome
    I'm nothing like Ginny--I don't much like to cook and I'm very social--but while reading _The Kitchen Daughter_ it was like I was inside her head. I don't personally know what it is like to be anywhere on the autism spectrum, but now I think I have a much better understanding of how it might feel. So I definitely would recommend this book to anyone who has a friend or family member with Asperger's. I'd also recommend it to foodies and fans of magical realism. For readers' advisers, the character doorway is primary, and I'd say that story is secondary because there were some plot twists I was not expecting!
  • Lisa B. (North Babylon, New York)


    Mixing a little magic with the Kitchen Daughter
    Jael McHenry's Kitchen Daughter is good book that I went through rather quickly. I read it with delight and despair as I followed the main character, Ginny's path of finding herself an independent place in the world.
    It is a story of how a person deals with grief and finds her way through it with the help of food and little magic that comes in the kitchen when she cook's the departed's recipes.
    I enjoyed following the tale of this extraordinary heroine and would recommend this book to people who find comfort in their kitchen.
  • Mary P. (Bellingham, WA)


    In one sitting--The Kitchen Daughter
    I meant to start this wonderful novel before going to bed, and finish later, but was compelled to finish--encouraged by the imagery and plot. The jacket note says it's about what is normal; but I think it's about whether "normal" is even desirable, and if being close-minded is an appropriate response. I found myself asking questions of myself: Using the senses of smell and taste, how would I describe something? We are generally most dependent on sight and sound.
    Am I more understanding of Asperger's Syndrome? Like Ginny, I'd prefer not to paste a name on any personality, as if it were a disease, which carries with it an expectation of a cure. Kitchen's Daughter would be an excellent Book Club read.
  • Marcia F. (Batavia, IL)


    "The Kitchen Daughter"
    "The Kitchen Daughter" is not a difficult read; as a matter of fact it can easily be read, completed and enjoyed in one sitting. However, I enjoyed it best by only reading several chapters at a time, thereby, savoring all that I had just read. I am an avid cook and really enjoyed everything described in food terms as well as the recipes (several I have made - delicious)! Being a Hospice volunteer, I related to Ginny's, Amanda's, David's and Gert's grief. This book will be an excellent read for Book Clubs as there are so many different directions the discussions can go. I really enjoyed reading "The Kitchen Daughter".
  • Margot T. (Naples, Florida)


    Inside Asperger's
    Is it medically possible for someone with Asperger's Syndrome to develop real insight into her condition and report it with such accuracy as does Ginny Selvaggio? That was the question that kept haunting me as I read this wonderfully realized story of a young woman caught in her own problem. This is a fascinating story. The characters are very well drawn and the drama of Ginny's life, limited as it is, is very well portrayed. I particularly enjoyed her relationship with David although it ended tragically and the way she learned to be involved in her sister's and nieces' lives.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.