Advance reader reviews of Outside Wonderland

Outside Wonderland

A Novel

by Lorna Jane Cook

Outside Wonderland
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2011
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 7
There are currently 46 member reviews
for Outside Wonderland
Order Reviews by:
  • Kaye D. (Huntley, IL)


    Left Me Wanting Move - Loved It!!!!
    This was a wonderful book, I enjoyed reading every word. It followed the lives of three orphaned children and their relationships. Each one had been affected by the early deaths of their parents in different ways and this story followed each one of their relationships and how different each one of them were. A side story involved their deceased parents and their watching over their childrens' lives from heaven. I would highly recommend this book for anyone and think it would make for interesting conversations at a book club. I was sorry to see it end, I would have liked to keep reading about the lives of Alice, Dinah and Grif.
  • Jan B. (Aiken, SC)


    Outside Wonderland
    Author Lorna June Cook has a well crafted book that displays the endless love of parents for their children. She does a fine job of depicting the haunting loss young children feel throughout their lives after the tragic death of parents. The book also depicts the bond and support of siblings in troubled times. I liked the characters but wished I'd have known more about them. Overall, I thought this book was a wonderful and reassuring read.
  • Marta M. (Santa Ana, CA)


    Wonderland of a read!
    I really enjoyed this book. It was slow going at first but soon I found myself thinking about the characters and was excited to return to them. The characters were well written and made me smile and cry. Choices were made and consequences were paid but all the way through it they supported each other even when they were having a hard time themselves. I loved the fact that their parents were in heaven watching and hoping they would make the right decisions. It gave me hope and was a very encouraging novel. I think it would be a good novel for bookclubs and a fun one for mothers and daughters to read together.
  • Susan J. (Twain Harte, CA)


    Wonderful Wonderland
    I really enjoyed this well-written book. The three siblings have distinct, three-dimensional personalities, flawed yet sympathetic. I felt I came to know the characters well and was invested in their decisions. Plot twists keep it from being predictable. This story would make a great film. I was sorry to come to the end of the book and can't wait for the author's next novel.
  • Melissa K. (Oviedo, Florida)


    A Compelling Read
    I loved this book! It is beautifully written and I couldn't put it down until the end. Cook developed such believable characters, with realistic qualities. It was heartwarming at times, and heartbreaking at other times. A wonderful story was woven. I look forward to reading more from this author. I will definitely encourage my book club to read this book.
  • Kay B. (Lake Jackson, TX)


    Outside Wonderland
    I loved this book! Lorna Jane Cook writes about our earthly tragedies from an eternal perspective in a poignant yet matter-of-fact way. The settings provide interesting back ground and the characters realistically tug at your heartstrings. The author's descriptions draw in the reader such as when her character, Alice, becomes enchanted with the child, Adam, and says "she felt herself slipping into the skin of the three-year-old". The story is well-written, fun, and easy to read and you will be sad for it to end.
  • Julie D. (Rancho Palos Verdes, CA)


    A Very Different Type of Book
    First let me say, I loved this book. It was so different than anything I had ever read before. I loved the characters and how each one told their own story. It was also very nice to have the story told from their mother as she watches from Heaven. I wasn't sure if I would like this aspect of the book, but I did. I highly recommend this one.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.