Advance reader reviews of The Trinity Six

The Trinity Six

by Charles Cumming

The Trinity Six by Charles Cumming X
The Trinity Six by Charles Cumming
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Mar 2011
    368 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Trinity Six
Order Reviews by:
  • Kristine L. (The Woodlands, TX)


    Trinity Six
    I really enjoyed reading this book. The characters were excellent and I wish to see more of Charlotte in other books if possible. Honestly, the book kept me guessing as well as led me down a believable path of intrigue. Keep them coming!
  • Sandy P. (Gainesville, FL)


    Quite exceptional
    I liked the fact that historical figures were employed in a work of fiction. Being old enough to remember the Philby "Sex for Secrets" scandal made this book extremely interesting. There are quite a few characters (I kept a roster) but they are well woven into the plot. I will definitely be downloading more of Mr. Cummings' work. Reminded me a lot of early Ludlum books.
  • Cynthia C. (Peekskill, NY)


    Trinity Six
    Charles Cumming puts a new spin on the well-known, and real-life, spy ring of Kim Philby, Guy Burgess, Anthony Blunt, Donald Maclean & John Cairncross. Known as the Cambridge Five, they were recruited by the Soviet Union while at Trinity College at Cambridge in the 1930's and were one of the most notorious spy rings ever uncovered. Mr. Cumming's takes this story & adds an additional, and fictional, sixth spy, who was long-rumored to have existed, but who has never been identified.

    In this complicated, but riveting, story set in present day, a British historian and author named Sam Gaddis learns that there was a sixth Cambridge spy. With mounting financial problems, he thinks that he can turn this information into a best-selling book. But that is before people who can help him uncover more details begin to die.

    Mr. Cummings plot is complicated and a bit convoluted with a large cast of characters and the first 100 pages are a bit dry. But this background is necessary information on which his plot is based. Stick with it - the tension continues to rise and as the story builds to its conclusion, you won't be able to put the book down!
  • Hilary H. (Tucson, AZ)


    The Trinity Six
    Trinity Six is the 3rd Charles Cumming that I've read and each one has been enjoyable and well done. I loved the premise of a possible 6th spy at Cambridge. I started with the book slowly but mostly due to short periods of time in which to read. Once I sat down with it, I was engaged with the story and the characters. Cumming does a great job with twists and turns and while people do get shot and killed, there is no emphasis on the violence or gore. It was another great spy read from him. I'll look forward to more.
  • Kenneth T. (Houston, Tx)


    The Trinity Six
    After a slow beginning (for me, a senior citizen) bringing younger readers up to date with the extraordinary and true spy ring which began at Cambridge in the 1930s, this strory picks up speed and considerable interest. The author, Charles Cumming, manages to draft an exciting and well written yarn (an old word, well deserved) that holds ones interest to the end with a lovely suggestion of a sequel. The history is right on as well.
  • Joe S. (Port Orange, FL)


    Exciting and well written thriller.
    I really liked this book and had a very hard time putting it down. It is exciting, suspenseful, well written with a great plot and collection of interesting and well developed characters. It was an overall enjoyable read. This is the first of Charles Cumming's books that I have read but I do intend to read more of them.
  • Frederick M. (Wilmington, NC)


    The Trinity Six
    I have enjoyed all of Mr. Cumming's books, this one was no exception. His description of spycraft and of the machinations of the WWII-era British spy game are always interesting. While I think I enjoyed his Alec Milius series a bit more, this book was an enjoyable read.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.