Advance reader reviews of Agent X

Agent X

A Novel

by Noah Boyd

Agent X
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2011
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 23 member reviews
for Agent X
Order Reviews by:
  • Sarah H. (Belford, NJ)


    Steve Vail could rescue me anytime...
    Agent X is an action packed thriller filled with twists and turns on every page. Boyd's writing really keeps you guessing right up until the very end. Action, mystery, and a smidgen of a love story; who wouldn't love this book?
  • Mary D. (Claremont, CA)


    Agent X
    A very exciting read, always fast-paced and moving. The protagonists are complicated people but very likable. What I particularly enjoy with these characters is that the friendships ring true, the personal commitments are honored and the sense of right vs. wrong is strong. The intrigue within the government is exciting and the good guy/bad guy lines are not always clearly drawn. A good, exciting read from beginning to end!
  • Patricia D. (Woodland Hills, CA)


    My hero - the Bricklayer aka Steve Vail
    In Boyd's first book Steve Vail, the bricklayer, was established as a real-life super hero. In Agent X, Steve again performs all the impossible spy and counter-conspiracy theory dances like he was born into the job. He's a little shy in the romance department, but that makes his character seem even more sincere and realistic. Steven Vail is again cornered in this book by the FBI, CIA, police, detectives and any one else who can't figure out a problem. Give it to Steve and he has the problem solved in no time. The reader is sent through a whirl-wind of government and terrorist plots which keeps the pages turning. The action is superb and the story line is one to keep you awake until the book is done. Be sure to give yourself plenty of time because you won't want to put this book down. Does he get the girl this time? Your turn to find out!
  • Laureen S. (Aurora, IL)


    Plenty of twists & turns
    This is a great read with plenty of action, twists & turns. Don't expect a vacation read as you will have to keep track of what's going on and the level of reading is not beach material, but more than worth your time. I did not read the first Bricklayer novel, but this book stands alone just fine. However, after reading Agent X, I will definitely go back and read Noah Boyd's first book. I hope for more in this series.
  • Barbara C. (Riverside, CA)


    Redeeming Social Value -- not so much!
    But a good read, oh yeah! The comparison with Reacher is apt, and the book has a fast paced plot and lots of action. Suspend reality for a while and enjoy. You may want to read the first book, the Bricklayer, before this one, but it does stand alone. I read many mystery-suspense novels, and this one is definitely a five for the genre.
  • David M. (Glendale, CA)


    Fast paced entertainment
    Boyd’s latest novel featuring the bricklayer, Steve Vail, is an action-filled page-turner with endless twists-and-turns. Overall, Vail fights Russian spies, battles corrupt FBI agents, and helps solve a mystery involving a missing woman. While there is no profound or deep message, the book is truly a fun journey!
  • Diane D. (Cape Elizabeth, ME)


    The bricklayer gets it done!
    Move over Jack Reacher, there's a new man on the scene and it's Steve Vail! The bricklaying, retired FBI agent Steve Vail is my new favorite hero! "Agent X" is a fast-paced thriller with plenty of twists and turns. If you like to read Lee Child, you won't be disappointed with Noah Boyd!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.